I wish I could apply for season 7 of The Next Food Network Star


Well, maybe the topic says it all.  I’ve been watching Food Network since ’94.  I think it was on for 4 or 5 hours a day.  I wasn’t working at the time and I honestly got a lot of time to really focus on cooking.  So…

When I was growing up, it wasn’t as chic as it is now to be a chef.  I could have gone to Johnson & Wales.  I could have really gotten the “chops” to cook in a real kitchen and learn the skills I crave now.  Of course, now-a-days, chefs are stars.  I really don’t want to be a “star” per se, I just have a (as they call it on the show) culinary point of view I would like the world to see.

I’m not a chef, and when Melissa D’Arabian won TNFNS last season, I began to think I didn’t have to have a restaurant to make the grade.  I was happy.  It was really invigorating to know that the home cook can be a star (again, not as big about the star thing).

Probably, to understand, I’ve been wanting to be a restaurateur for about 10 years now.  Actually, let’s say over 15.  I can cook.  My stuff is pretty good most of the time.  I want to share with the public.  But, since I tithe to American Express, Wells Fargo car loans and PNC Mortgage, I doubt that will ever happen.  To open that little coffee shop/diner/breakfast and lunch place I envision where I can put out great food for a reasonable price and make it home to cook dinner for my parents.

The Next Food Network Star would take me away for 6 weeks…but the experience would be so helpful to me.

So, why can’t I apply?  I have no kitchen to cook in.  I may try to do it in my mom’s kitchen but still….I will probably just watch from my couch again.  Maybe season 8.

Don’t feel bad for me – I am not looking for pity – just expressing…as I too often do.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

