Day 8 – I’d like to say….


…that I’ve been EXERCISING for 8 days.  Not so.  But I think 5 is pretty good.  We’ve already discussed how I want to walk, but my shoes hurt my feet, so I’m doing this workout DVD in my bedroom.  BETTER THAN NOTHING and believe it or not, it’s got some serious cardio to it…AND, I think I have less than five feet across the room and maybe 3 feet from the bed to the wall to do this work out in.  Now THAT’s a great workout!

Anyway, this isn’t my topic for the day.  Some of you may stop reading after I tell you my topic and I understand that.  I’m not judging.  Besides, I don’t know when you start or stop reading.  My topic today is belief.  Belief in God.  Why?  Because today I am not feeling as strong as I have.  And I need to speak to what is in my heart.

Every morning I try to thank God for all that is good in my life.  When I was walking, I had the opportunity to talk with God the entire time I walked and it was great.  That being said, those of you who know me know there was a lot more talking going on than listening and THAT’S NOT GOOD.

Well, today, I seem to have allowed the evil one into my brain and I’m not able to push his voice out of my head.  I’m looking thru all my Bible resources searching, searching, searching for a comforting chapter or verse.  I’m always drawn to the same chapters:  Ephesians 6 (especially put on the full armor of God), Philipians 4, John 3.  Today, the verse of the day from Bible Gateway was from James 1.  I haven’t read James in a long time.  So, here’s a link to the chapter:

http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=James%201&version=NIV

A couple of verses struck me right away.  The first one was ” 6 But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. ”  The reason this verse struck me was because the evil one is putting doubts in my head…doubts about my ability to do my job, my decisions I have made in my life, my friends…doubts are not of God, and I have been letting my faith be tossed about by the wind.

The second verse is ” 19 My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, 20 because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires. ”  I am guilty this week of being the opposite of this.  Quick to speak.  Slow to listen.  Quick to anger.  I really need to spend some time in prayer about this because I can’t just let all those things happen at once…and continue for a week at a time.

I think, aside from Mark 12:30, my verse for the weekend will be from James 1:

“25 But whoever looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues in it—not forgetting what they have heard, but doing it—they will be blessed in what they do.”

I’m gonna close with a line from Compline, my favorite “service” from the Episcopal Book of Common Prayer (http://www.bcponline.org/):

Guide us waking, O Lord, and guard us sleeping; that awake
we may watch with Christ, and asleep we may rest in peace.

Good night all.  Blessings to you…probably back to our regularly scheduled program tomorrow.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Daily Fat Fight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 8 – I’d like to say….

  1. Pingback: Day 8 – I’d like to say…. (via Mary’s Blog) « In Love With The Lord

  2. Mary, I can say from personal experience, Satan . . . the evil one, or as my friend and retired priest Alan would say “Big Red” is working that hard to knock you off track, girl you and the Lord are tight! Really, when I was more in a “know about Jesus” and not so much in a personal relationship with Him, Satan didn’t feel all that threatened by this, but now that Jesus is the lover of my soul and my constant companion, Satan gets at me every chance he can find. Sounds odd to be saying this, but I’m kinda thinking if he has to work that hard to try and screw with me, it’s probably a good sign. Since your “go to” is the same as mine here’s another fav or two: Jeremiah 29:11-13 and Psalm 139:10 – Rock on for Jesus!

    Like

    • maryaquino says:

      Jeremiah 29 … I’ve heard a lot about that chapter the past couple of months . Check out Psalm 139:14 too. That was part of my palanca prayer the other day. Thanks for the share, BTW…

      Like

Leave a Reply

