Day 9….Is this girl EVER gonna stop counting?


Nope.  Not gonna do it.

I did it again today – I worked out for 30 minutes – but I think I counteracted it with dinner…2 slices of Christopher’s Pizza.  Sinful.  HA!  Sinful, interesting choice of words after yesterday’s diatribe.  Anyway, white pizza is never a lo-cal option.  But again, I’m not eating based on my choices – dad wanted white pizza.  If he’s gonna eat 2 pieces (yeah…he did!) we’re gonna order what he’ll eat two slices of.

Anyway, maybe some of you are similar to me.  I have days when I’m feeling low.  The past two have been like that.  I know why (and no, I’m not gonna share) but still…knowing about it doesn’t make you NOT feel down.  It just gives you more fuel for the pity party fire.  Today, I was struck several times by the “you think YOU have it so bad? what about _____” <— fill in a name here.  And, by the way, it might be your name in that space…all of a sudden, I no longer need any focus at all.  It’s all about _____ (and you know who you are!) and the prayers I am lifting up for _____.

Honestly that happens all the time to me.  I’ve always told people that it “keeps me real” to be reminded that no matter how bad I think I have it, I merely have dents in my fender… (listen whilst you read).  Others have called Travelers and are looking at totally new rides.  Oh if you haven’t ever heard Francesca Battistelli before…follow the recommended link to her website and definitely listen!  She’s on YouTube too as you can tell.

Somehow, in all this, the saying, “This too shall pass” comes to mind.  Not biblical…but appropriate for sure.

Another of my favorite prayers from Compline goes something like this:

Keep watch, dear Lord, with those who work, or watch, or
weep this night, and give your angels charge over those who
sleep. Tend the sick, Lord Christ; give rest to the weary, bless
the dying, soothe the suffering, pity the afflicted, shield the
joyous; and all for your love’s sake. Amen.

Tend the sick, Lord Christ.  Give rest to the weary.  Soothe the suffering.  And shield the joyous; and all for your love’s sake.

And now another shameless plug:  Tesla’s new album Twisted Wires came out last week.  Here’s their new song, Second Street.  FYI, Jeff Keith (Tesla’s lead singer) is one of the kindest souls I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting.

Peace.  And Peas (still getting used to all my new technology) too.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, Daily Fat Fight, Music, Rock 'n Roll and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

