Day 3__ hahaha wouldn’t it be funny if I actually knew what day?


Hi all!  I know I’ve been MIA for quite a while – internet access is sketchy out at the beach, and I was working hard for the Lord – Quite an amazing weekend, Cursillo #164 was.  The team was blessed and selected by God, we moved like a well oiled machine, and the participants were raised up and filled with the healing power of the Holy Spirit.

Then, by the grace of God, I got sick AFTER the weekend was over (it wouldn’t have slowed me down if I were sick during the weekend…I would have just spread my germs around…well, kinda).

Now I think I’m fine.  Today’s a new day…with a new chapter to read.

No, seriously – a new chapter to read.  Ephesians 4 is what I will focus on – but only really a couple of verses.

4 There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called to one hope when you were called; 5 one Lord, one faith, one baptism; 6 one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.  7 But to each one of us grace has been given as Christ apportioned it.”

This, for some reason, reminds me of John 1 where he says, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 He was with God in the beginning. 3 Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. 4 In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. 5 The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome[a] it.”  It’s probably just the flow of the verse, but I think of it as a similar sentiment.  There is but one God, the Father Almighty, Creator of heaven and earth.  We are called to be his beloved children not because we’re such wonderful people, but because of His grace – where he sent his only son to die on the cross for our sins.  We don’t deserve his grace.  We don’t deserve to be forgiven.  But we are.  We are sealed by the act of baptism to be one of the chosen.  Again, I’m not trying to dissect anything about Ephesians 4…just tellin you what I’m thinking.

Then there is:  “15 Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will grow to become in every respect the mature body of him who is the head, that is, Christ.”  This reminds me of a Casting Crowns song…kinda the opposite thought than is represented – the song is If We Are The Body.  In that song, Mark Hall questions why His work not being carried out…in church of all places.  We are called on in the great commission to be the hands and feet of Christ – going forth and making disciples of all.  If that’s our calling, why are so many people bordering on a-theistic?  Maybe not even bordering?

I guess it’s possible we are being too “pushy” about our feelings – and by that I mean we keep trying to superimpose OUR explanations of all things Godly onto the truth.  Truly, God is all about love – and doing good things in his name – studying to know what “good things” are…So, funny thing.  I just mentioned two of the three parts of the Cursillo weekend…Study and Action.  And, actually (based on the dictionary.com definition of it) this whole diatribe is about Piety.  Piety, study & action.  The three legged stool we discuss in the Cursillo talks.

Now, for those of you who have read this far – thanks.  🙂  Oh, and let me tell you – I did a fantastic job this past weekend of not pigging out until Saturday night/Sunday.  Then I was sick on Monday/Tuesday, and today I’ve maintained a much lighter intake of food.  OH…and while I didn’t work out every day at Cursillo, I probably walked over 10000 steps each day, and lifted, carried, sweated…and consumed as much water as I could.  I do believe that I came back from a Cursillo weekend weighing close to what I weighed when I left for the weekend.

And, if you’re still reading, I will need to start learning about nutrition for senior citizens, as my dad has now had 4 blood transfusions in a month.  He works it out so that he has two each time he goes in, so he’s only had to go to the hospital twice…but it’s an all day affair.

Kimbal Chapel Camp St. Christopher

The Chapel at Camp

On my Facebook page, I posted (immediately after I took the picture), “I miss it already” and I do.  This is the most peaceful place to pray.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, Cursillo, Daily Fat Fight, God, My Thoughts and Musings, The Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 3__ hahaha wouldn’t it be funny if I actually knew what day?

  1. Pingback: Have I been in Seculsion and Have I Learned Anything? « gordopdx

Leave a Reply

