Catching up…where was I when we last talked?


So, since I returned from Cursillo, I’ve been missing in action a lot because of a PC issue – my hard drive crashed!  And well, it all worked out for the best, however it was not fun while I was going through it.  Crossing my fingers that this hard drive is in it for the long haul.

I’m overly excited about Dell’s technical support.  A little confused by their billing department, but overall, pleased with them.  Every time I spoke with someone at Dell, they were polite, helpful…and good about not laughing outright at me.  The area technician they sent was a chick!  She was really good – and I know that she just wanted to hang out with the greyhounds again, that’s why she hooked the keyboard up incorrectly.  🙂  Anyway, it all worked out…just a few tense moments.

I’m suggesting them:  Dell

And now onto yet another topic.  Sourdough.  Yep.  I did it.  The anadama bread came out great – but the sourdough – well, it is crusty, it is flavorful…it even looks like the picture in the book!  How cool is that??  I’m gonna try to make more tomorrow night (was gonna try tonight, but I just don’t have time tonight.)  I might just bake two loaves tomorrow.  One to keep, one to give away.  And, I’ll probably give away the other loaf of anadama bread too.

Sourdough.  Right.  Sorry, lost my train of thought for a second there.  The reading I’ve done says a natural yeast spores starter is best…and I believe that.  I’m just not at a point where I have a way to measure the flour (and the only starter recipe I have is in weights, not cups).  So…if you want to try my starter recipe – it’s easy.

1 package yeast (Active Dry)

1 cup flour (next starter will be made with unbleached…but I’m at the mercy of what mom has)

2 1/2 c of lukewarm water

Mix together and store in a loosely covered container.  I’ve got mine in an large bowl.  Let it sit for at least 24 hours – better to wait 2-4 days.  If you don’t use it right away, at 3 days, feed it with a little more water and a handful of flour.  Never does it have to be smooth … it can be lumpy.

I am kinda loose with the amounts – I admit that…shouldn’t be.

So what’s the big deal with making bread?  You know that bread figures prominently in the bible, right?  I mean, it’s all over the new and old testament.  In John 6, we hear Jesus declare he is the bread of life.  He feeds 5000 with five loaves and two fishes.  While we do not live by bread alone, we are sustained by the bread He offers.

We, as Christians, know where the bread is…we need to tell everyone.  Stolen from Fr Tom at The Well by the Sea, we must share our good fortune of finding the bread of life with those that do not know.  Consider us all beggars – and what makes US stand apart is that we’ve found the motherload of bread…instead of keeping that to ourselves, we are passing it along to EVERYONE who is hungry.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in God, My Thoughts and Musings, The Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Catching up…where was I when we last talked?

  1. Pingback: Catching up…where was I when we last talked? (via Mary’s Blog) « In Love With The Lord

Leave a Reply

