Musing of a …. well, let’s just say, “I was thinking…”


I have a few things on my mind.  But, I wanted to share something that I knew, but I learned today.  Okay, so your first thought is, “If you knew it, Mary…how could you have learned it today?”  Well, my friends…what you know inherently is good.  It’s stuff that is just “there” and when someone tells you it, you think – yeah, I knew that.  But, when what you know is then brought to light, focused on, dissected (in a good way) and re-taught to you…that’s how you learn it again.  So, I learned about Love.  No.  Not like you think.  (Some of my readers/friends just paused for a moment and thought I might have FINALLY fallen in…nope, sorry.)

What did I learn about love?  Well, what I learned was about how we SHOULD love one another.  I’m pretty sure each of the Gospel authors mentioned that one – Jesus gave it as his new, greatest commandment.  Just picking on John 13:  34 “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. 35 By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”   This SHOULD be agape love – undeserved, yet given.

However, the word I heard used today along with a “definition” of Love was that it is a CHOICE.  We think of love as a feeling…once given it will be received, etc…all that mushy stuff.  No, think of this – along with the idea of AGAPE love – it is a choice.  We choose to love the Lord our God and we CHOOSE to love our neighbors as ourselves.

Lots of people will ask those who are known to be believers – if there is a GOD, why do bad things happen to good people?  Why do babies die, why was there the holocaust, 9/11, tsunamis, hurricanes, earthquakes?  Well, some of that is all about the choice.  Not necessarily the choice to love, but it DOES boil down to that.  Now, natural disasters are just that.  They have been around – remember the whole raining for 40 days and 40 nights thing?  Well, natural disasters happen.  But 9/11…the holocaust…serial killers – that IS all about the choice.  We’ve been given a choice.  We can follow the one, true and living God.  We can keep his commandments – or, not.  It’s up to us.  Some of you reading don’t.  Okay.  That is YOUR CHOICE.  God presented us with a garden, back in the beginning.  He also gave us free will to choose.  Did we want to live in this garden, with perfectness around us, or did we want to choose to believe in a snake (man, I hate snakes) and follow what the snake told us?  We chose.  He wasn’t happy, but he let us choose.  He always does.

Excellent point here:  do you think that people are inherently good?  Think about that.  See, I’m polly-anna enough to answer that:  YES!  People are good.

If people are inherently good, why do we lock our doors?  Why do we have home security companies?  Why do we have alarms on businesses?? Why do we password our stuff?  A zillion passwords???  Are people inherently good?  All that kinda says no.

Okay – so, that was musing #1.

Musing #2.  Some of you know this already but some don’t.  My dad is a composer.  He is a conductor.  He is a highly trained music educator, and he is a tenor.  He has performed with and for some of the most amazing musical minds EVER.  He is a beautiful person and a talent that should be known about.  I don’t know what to do about that.  If anyone has any ideas, please let me know.  He, by the way, has MANY many wonderful compositions that need to see the light of day.

Okay, musing #3.  I managed to make 2 more loaves of Cheese Bread.  I’m going to make more this weekend.  Just thought y’all would want to know that.  Each batch I make will be two loaves.  One with one type of shredded cheese and the other with another.  This time it was Italian 6 cheese combo and Mexican (not seasoned, just multiple Mexican cheeses).  Next time it might be cheddar – if so, it’s gonna be SHARP cheddar.  Then maybe colby/jack.  I dunno.  Order through my Facebook page:  facebook.com/1charlestonsc    Oh, and I’m not shipping…ya gotta be able to pick up from me.  However, I’m not hiding the recipe – it’s on my facebook page as a note.

I will be going BACK to my daily fight with the bulge probably in the next month.  I am in the process of coming off ONE gym membership in Summerville, and going to one here in Calabash (down the street from here…)  Then I’ll get back to my palaver about weight loss.  However, until then you have to put up with my insane ramblings.

Remember – to recap:

1.  Love (agape love specifically) is a choice.  Choose love.

2.  Dad is a very talented man.  Let me know if you want more.

3.  Bread.  Order on my FB page.

4.  We will return to our regularly scheduled program sometime in September, I believe.

Someone tell me they liked my fiction story.  I may just finish it.  Or start another.  I dunno.

 

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, Daily Fat Fight, Fiction, God, Music, My Thoughts and Musings, The Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Musing of a …. well, let’s just say, “I was thinking…”

  1. Roy says:

    Think about forgiveness. I don’t think you can seriously have one without the other. If you have agape love then forgiveness must be in the equation somewhere. Remember M.L.’s book “It’s Not About Me”.

    Like

  2. Preach it my brother.

    Like

  3. You my pal are a genius

    Like

Leave a Reply

