What has Mary been up to?


Well, I’m about to embark upon week 3 of Curves.  Actually, I embarked on Thursday.  But, if we’re talking about actual weeks…that’s tomorrow.

Curves is great, because it forces me to work out for at least 30 minutes a day.  I can go most days, and come away feeling pretty good.  Not like I’ve killed myself but pretty good.  I have to say, I’d love to see the fat melting away, but it’s not.  I am settling for having my belt needing to be cinched just a tad tighter for now.  If I could only fit in the Lucky Brand jeans.  That’s what I want.  To be able to wear the cool Lil Maggies I bought from Buckle that don’t fit.

So, the excitement that I MAY just be able to fit the jeans by the cruise (in Feb) is overwhelming.

On another topic, I baked and cooked like a fiend today.  Because I spent money like a millionaire yesterday…$100 at Whole Foods and $65 at Trader Joe’s.  What did I do?  Well, I went organic yesterday.  And bought a half a case of non-organic wine at TJ’s.

Organic:  Figs, flour, almonds, beets, heirloom tomatoes, honey, ciabatta, milk, butter, greek yogurt, cheese, maple syrup, fire roasted low sodium canned tomatoes, two kinds of pasta sauce, tea, blueberry preserves, Kashi cereal.

Overly expensive NOT organic: olives, mushrooms.

Reasonably priced: almonds, walnuts, cashews, oyster crackers, oriental rice crackers, Joe’s O’s, blue corn tortilla chips…wait, those might have been organic.  Not sure.  Oh, and wine.  6 bottles of 3 buck chuck.  One was purely to poach the figs in cuz I don’t really like Merlot but it doesn’t taste THAT bad…with 1 1/2 cups of sugar and the zest/juice of a lime in it.  Oh…limes.  Got limes at TJ’s 6 or 7 for $1.69!

I had coupons and a living social deal at Whole Foods.  And…well, I went to Trader Joe’s.  ‘Nuff said there.  Honestly, I spent $120 at Whole Foods, but with coupons and living social deal, it was $91.  What a bargain!

I am on the tail end of a cooking SPREE.  Made the poached figs.  Roasted the beets.  Baked oatmeal chocolate chip cookies (for mom & dad, mostly…and for church  I think).  Then, I started on ORGANIC cheese bread.  I bought 1 qt. of organic milk.  1 lb of organic butter.  1 package of GROSSLY EXPENSIVE organic mild (but actually not as mild as I expected) cheddar cheese and organic flour.  I tried to buy organic yeast but really, I couldn’t find anything but Red Star.  That’s what I have.  So….I tasted the milk, butter and cheese.  They don’t taste different.  (So I don’t like organic milk…since I don’t like regular milk, organic milk didn’t make me a milk drinker…) But I *LIKE* the organic cheese.  It’s good.

Anyway, the organic cheese bread is rising like a CHAMP.  If it’s light and airy, I’m gonna make another loaf.  Maybe if one of them is REALLY pretty I will take a picture.

Here’s my learned line of the day:

We play for an audience of one:  Jesus Christ.

What does it mean?  For all of us (yes, me included) that run around trying to please this person and be better for that person, and do a good job for the other person and make a great dinner for our family, and do this or that for ourselves….remember…we should be focused on the one that matters – our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  So play to the audience of one.  Everyone else is gravy.

And, remember…Rejoice.  Always.  Said again:  Rejoice!  (paraphrase of Philippians 4:4)

 

 

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Daily Fat Fight, God, My Thoughts and Musings, The Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What has Mary been up to?

  1. Not at all surprised that you ended with Phil 4:4 since that verse has been chasing me around for the last day or so along with Phil 2:3-4 BUT watch out because if you say “yes” to that one, you’ll be put to work immediately. Watch what you pray for! Actually, I love to serve Him, so it wasn’t a bad thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

