Daily Devotional Recommendation


Those of you who know me know that daily means maintained approximately 10 days and then set aside and eventually forgotten.  I am horrible at structure where studying and being IN THE WORD is concerned when left to my own devices.  I’m GREAT if I am in a structured Bible study.

Okay, so enough about me.  Wait.  This is kinda about me and my new devotional.  So my dear DEAR friend LeAnn suggested this book she has been using called Jesus Calling (By Sarah Young…link in a bit) and when she started describing it, I knew I had heard about it before – some St. George’s friends and some Cursillo buds were using it and loved it.

Here’s the premise of Jesus Calling.  The daily comments are Him.  Speaking directly to you.  And, the most amazing wild and CRAZY thing is, so far, every day…it’s *exactly* what I needed to hear at the time.  For example, today:  “Imagine the pain I feel when My children tie themselves up in anxious knots, ignoring My gift of peace.  I died a criminal’s death to secure this blessing for you.  Receive it gratefully; hide it in your heart.  My peace is an inner treasure growing within you as you trust in me.  Therefore, circumstances cannot touch it. Be still, enjoying peace in My presence.”

You’d have to know me REALLY well to know that the fact that Jesus died on a cross for MY sins really brings me to tears.  As a matter of fact, on Good Friday, I always reflect upon the fact that when He said, “My God, My God, why have you forsaken me?” it was because he was separated from his father by the sin of the world.  At that moment he knew what it was like to be fully human and be “behind the cloak” of worldly sin as he had never been before.

So, this particular musing from Jesus in my daily devotional hit me right in the heart.  See, it’s also like when I listen to and try to sing along with Francesca Battistelli’s Time In Between…gets me right here….(don’t know that song?  GO NOW, CLICK THE LINK, LISTEN…he *is* our savior).  Oh:  gets me right here:

 

 

 

Yep…right in the ole heart.

He died for my sins.  I can take a little heart-ache and anguish from time to time.  I am trying to be Christian in my work ethics.  And, so in an effort to turn the other cheek, I am going to keep in my mind that we can bear a cross.  The cross we bear can be just about anything.  But, it pales in comparison to the sacrifice He made.  For me.  (and for you, by the way!)

So OFF with you.  Go listen to that song.  Oh, and suggest ya buy the book too – but, only if you are in need of a daily devotional.

(BTW, I peeked at tomorrow…and it told me to be prepared to suffer for Him…)

6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus… And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.

20 To our God and Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen.”

Philipians 4:6-7, 19-20

Oh, and for those of you who don’t believe and yet still read  my many musings, still listen to the song.  Francesca has a beautiful voice and maybe the words don’t mean anything to you right now.  That’s fine.  He still died for you too.  Remind me to do my little thing on religion vs faith.  That’s coming up someday too.  (20 word or less preview:  I’m not “pushing religion”. I’m praising God…and BELIEVING!)

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, God, My Thoughts and Musings, Service to Others, The Bible and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Devotional Recommendation

  1. I love that….”I’m praising God and believing “

    Like

Leave a Reply

