Another blog recipe: Pico de Gallo Mary Style


English: Fresh Cilantro (Coriander) Deutsch: V...

English: Fresh Cilantro (Coriander) Deutsch: Verkaufsübliches Bund frischer Koriander (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I like my salsa very fresh tasting, with a bit of bite (I like more bite than I can put in, as my mom likes NO bite at all) and I like a LOT of cilantro.  I mean, a LOT.  I’ve backed down on the level of garlic in the past few years, but not cilantro.  So, here we go:

Pico de Maria

(Get it?  I’m Mary…)

3 large vine ripened tomatoes, chopped and slightly seeded

1 large clove of garlic, smashed and minced

1/2 a red onion, minced

1 can roasted chiles (as mild as you can get them…I used Ortega.  I think the Walmart brand has been the most “bland” I’ve tasted).

1 large bunch of fresh cilantro – chopped and kinda milled into a green course pesto like substance.  And, this is probably at least 1 cup of cilantro.

1 lime

salt, pepper, cumin and white pepper to taste.

I mostly do it like this:

Chop the tomatoes and put them in a bowl.  Mince the garlic and onion and put them in the same bowl.  Add the cilantro and realize the bowl is too small.  Put the chiles in the bowl and vow to get a bigger bowl.  Scrounge for the bigger bowl (this time it’s the size of Los Angeles itself, therefore WAY too big….)

Squeeze the lime into the bowl (the one with the salsa in it, not the empty one at this point).  Then, add seasonings to taste.  Mix until the colors are distributed well.

Let sit in the refrigerator for at least a couple of hours.  Better overnight.  I typically forget, and don’t have time to let it sit overnight.

Disclaimer:  If I were making this for a party of my spicy friends, I would have added a jalapeno, of fairly decent size, seeded, cored and chopped up into tiny itty bitty pieces so that no one would recognize it…stealth heat!  Feel free to do so.

Enjoy!  ( I don’t know how to say EAT! in Spanish…I do know that it’s ‘Mange’ in Italian…)

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another blog recipe: Pico de Gallo Mary Style

  1. Lindsay says:

    Sounds yummy!
    (And ‘Eat!’ in Spanish is “Come” or “Comemos” (Let’s eat). 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

