Olive “Relish” – My take on a New Orleans thang….


I remember the muffaletta sandwich when I once visited New Orleans.  Big, tasty “roll” with all kinds of STUFF on it.  I got my sandwich pretty “meat free” but…what stayed with me was the olive relish-salad on the sandwich.

So, I made my own version up.  Made it yesterday.

1 jar of pitted kalamata olives

1 (small) jar of spanish olives (unstuffed is best, but I forgot and got stuffed)

1 can of pitted black olives

1 can of artichoke hearts (small is good)

1 jar of roasted red peppers (use the whole jar if the spanish olives aren’t stuffed, only a few if they are)

2 – 3 cloves of garlic

2 scallions

2 stalks of celery

3-5 mushrooms (depending on how large)

1 can of green chiles (roasted)

2 tbsp red wine vinegar

2 tbsp white balsamic vinegar

fresh ground pepper to taste

Crystal hot sauce to taste (if you want)

Here’s the hard part.  Open each jar/can, drain.  Chop to tiny itty bitty pieces.  Chop celery, mushrooms, garlic, and scallions.  Put them all in a large bowl and mix.  Typically, I leave the garlic out until it’s time to add the vinegar and then I pour the vinegar over the garlic to “cook” it a bit.  Add the vinegar, cover with plastic wrap for an hour or even up to over night.  Transfer to jars to store in refrigerator.  Lasts up to about a month, depending on how often you take it out of the fridge and open it up!  🙂

Last night I used it to make a faux-chicken salad with a bit of pasta, cut up faux-chicken and some light Miracle Whip to cut the salty.  It rocked the house.  Use it on sandwiches, hot dogs, hamburgers, stuffed mushrooms, as an addition to dips…anywhere you’d use pickle relish.  Go for it!

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Olive “Relish” – My take on a New Orleans thang….

  1. Wow, that sounds awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

