That Choco-peanut butter cookie recipe that has haunted me at night…


English: Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, one with ...

English: Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, one with wrapper and the other is split in half. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I share with you, because you are my loyal readers…haha…and I thank you for that.  Now. The back story.  I have been wanting to make a cookie that reminds me of a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup.  So of course, it had to have chocolate and peanut butter.  I dreamed this cookie recipe.  But not really the recipe…just that there could be a cookie that resembled a peanut butter cup.  Several nights in the past few weeks, I fell asleep thinking of how to turn a smooth, yummy candy into a cookie.  Well…this isn’t that recipe.  But, it turned out pretty well.

My recipe is based on a Peanut Butter cookie recipe from my favorite cook book The New Doubleday Cookbook.     It is NOT exact – I don’t do anything exactly the way the recipe goes.  But…here’s my Choco-Peanut Butter Cookie Recipe:

3/4 c  White-wheat flour (A.P. flour would work too)

1/2 c Dark cocoa (I use Penzeys High Fat Cocoa, but dutch process would be okay…you might need a tad more with dutch process)

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2  unsalted butter

1/2 c organic sugar

1/2 c organic firmly packed brown sugar (light)

1 egg

1/2 c organic peanut butter

Sift flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt and set aside.  Cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add egg. Beat well.  Beat in peanut butter.  Add dry ingredients slowly.  Mix until just blended.  Chill for 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Shape into 1″ balls, flatten on greased baking sheets with a floured fork.  Bake for 12-15 minutes or until they don’t give when tapped.  Cool on a rack.

You can’t beat good cookies.  That being said, this isn’t the recipe I was thinking of.  There will be others.  🙂

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That Choco-peanut butter cookie recipe that has haunted me at night…

  1. Pingback: Recipe for Hot Summer Days «

  2. Ernesto Antonelli says:

    The peanut butter that i always buy have some additional nuts in it and they taste great. .

    My web portal
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

