It’s a bird…it’s a plane…it’s SUPER FOOD!


Kale

Kale (Photo credit: Another Pint Please…)

I’m probably a victim of the hype of super-foods, but I am *on* the super-food bandwagon.  I have tried to make a whole meal of super-foods…kale, salmon, avocado…walnuts…

Yeah, well not tonight.  I just went with kale.  So, here’s my recipe for sauted kale

2-3 tbsp olive oil

3-4 cups chopped kale

4 scallions, sliced on the bias

1 large garlic clove, smashed and minced

1/2 c white wine

salt & pepper to taste

1/2 fresh lemon squeezed

Heat olive oil over low heat for around 2 minutes.  Add scallions and garlic and let the onion/garlic flavor infuse.  Turn heat up and add kale.  Coat kale with the oil.  Let it saute for a couple of minutes.  Season with salt and pepper.  Deglaze with the white wine.  Cover and let cook for around 10 minutes.  When slightly wilted, add freshly squeezed lemon juice.

This probably serves 3-4 people.

I sure hope the super-food thing isn’t wrong with kale.  I kinda like it.  I think I’ll make Kale chips with the rest of the kale I have.  Have you tried Kale Chips?  OUTSTANDING.  (There’s no recipe for that – spray cut up kale with cooking spray, bake in the oven until the edges start to turn brown…salt when they come out of the oven…try not to consume them all before they hit the serving bowl)

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s a bird…it’s a plane…it’s SUPER FOOD!

  1. Shane says:

    Thanks for sharing that. I love kale and I eat a ton of it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Shane says:

    Oh and I love kale chips. I mix some olive oil and apple cider vinegar together to drizzle over the kale, then bake it, and sprinkle with sea salt before eating.

    Like

  3. Patricia says:

    Kale chips are delicious when also doused with chopped garlic. Some grated pecorino romano also adds something extra!

    Like

Leave a Reply

