Kale Pesto – My Way


Kale

Kale (Photo credit: aaronlk)

Some friends at work are also vegetarians (and several vegan…god bless them) and they shared a recipe for kale pesto (with walnuts, I think).

Before I cooked last night I was too lazy to look for the recipe so I made up my own.  SO unusual for me, huh?

4 + cups of kale, chopped

5 large basil leaves

2 large cloves of garlic

1/2-3/4 c of extra virgin olive oil

1/2 c walnut halves

juice of 1/2 lemon

parmesan or romano cheese to taste

salt & pepper to taste too

Okay, I cheated and bought chopped kale in a bag.  I made my mom clean it after it sat around for 4 days in the bag.  Nice daughter, huh? And, make it worse?  I sent her shopping for the basil, lemon and I think cheese.  Wow.  I am MEAN.  Back to the recipe.

Haul out the food processor.  Stuff the kale, basil, and garlic into the bowl of the processor.  If it doesn’t all fit, eventually it will…do it in parts.  Start the processor and stream in the olive oil until the pesto is the consistency of … well … paste.  Keep processing until all the kale, basil and garlic is incorporated.

Squeeze the lemon juice into the processor.  Add walnuts, cheese and process again.  If it happens that you need more olive oil, that’s fine…add it.  You want this to be a bit loose.

The recipe makes about 2 cups of pesto.  Use it for everything.  EVERYTHING.  On fish, on chicken … on fake chicken, fake fish, fake beef….ice cream, breakfast cereal…Okay, not fake beef.  🙂

Enjoy.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kale Pesto – My Way

  1. This sounds yummy! I shall have to wander back further into your archives for the loaf of bread I planned to snag to go with the other pesto I snatched up at http://trishasflyingmeatballs.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

