Veggie Corn Chowder – poor shopping skills style


A bowl of corn chowder

A bowl of corn chowder (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I thought I bought everything that I needed to make corn chowder.  Not only did I shop poorly, I read the recipe poorly.  So.  I had to improvise.  But if the smell in the kitchen has any bearing…it may be a hit.

I didn’t read I needed 3 cups of half and half.  I read 3 tbsp.  And while I thought I bought an onion, I did not.  Here’s the way I managed it:

1/3 c olive oil

4 frozen slices of Morningstar Farms veggie bacon (any kind will do) cut into small pieces, to create “lardons

2 garlic cloves minced

1/3 c. flour

Onion powder

32 oz vegetable broth

4 ears of corn, shucked, and corn separated from husk…keep the husks and milk the husks as best you can

8 oz half & half

Saute the bacon until crispy in the olive oil.  When nearly done, add the garlic and saute briefly.  Add flour after the garlic becomes fragrant.  Add flour a bit at a time, to make a roux.

Add vegetable broth and stir until thickened.  Add half & half.  Season with salt & pepper.

Incorporate corn and cobs.  Let it come to a boil, then reduce heat and let it simmer for 20 minutes (or a little more).

After cobs have steeped for 20-30 minutes, remove them and discard.  Let sit for around 15 minutes and then season with salt & pepper to taste.

Serve with minced roasted red peppers and scallions.

 

It smells fantastic.  I could always up the garlic or add garlic powder.  I could also have incorporated the red peppers during cooking but I wanted more of a pure corn flavor.

The original recipe calls for 3 cups of half & half.  Instead I used 1, and 4 cups of vegetable broth (original recipe calls for 2).  So, it’s lighter.  I still used the half & half…I suppose if you REALLY wanted to knock down the calories/fat, you could use fat free half & half.  There’s an idea.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Daily Fat Fight, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Veggie Corn Chowder – poor shopping skills style

  1. Sounds yummy to me. Never had fake bacon and (gasp) would probaby use “real” bacon but who knows? I’m bettin’ it’s a hit.

    Like

    • maryaquino says:

      I can’t tell you if it tastes the same as real bacon…haven’t had that in over 15 yrs but…try it once. If you don’t like it, you can give the rest of it to Katrena Luoni! 🙂

      Like

      • Good point. I am going to try it actually. I rarely eat meat anymore. I don’t have moral issues with, I simply don’t like it all that much. I like the taste of veggies better. I couldn’t go vegan though. Love my milk and cheese . . . I’ll let you know how it compares. lol

        Like

  2. maryaquino says:

    Seriously, I couldn’t be vegan either. Ice cream is a food group right? So is cheese?

    Just as a side note, I don’t have moral issues with meat, I have digestion issues with meat. But I’m happy to be meat free for the moral reasons too. It just didn’t start that way.

    Like

  3. I have misread the recipe too:) My oh my.. I have even misread the bag- l bought self rising flour one time instead of soft wheat flour… and everything kept coming out weird for some reason, must be the oven, must be the weather, must be my scale, then to find out one day I actually looked at the bag as I was moving it in the cupboard and low and behold it was the wrong kind of flour:)
    Your recipe sounds delicious:)

    Like

    • maryaquino says:

      I am also going on the theory that everything tastes better when you wait 24 hours. It’s in the fridge, waiting for the big serve. But….I’ve tasted for quality control. It’s good. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

