It’s been oh, so long….


My brother got married !!

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And so much has happened.

I don’t have a lot of witty repartee for you.  I’m merely stopping by because…well, I miss writing.  Even though I write for a living.

So.  If so much has happened, why not much to say?  Okay.  I’ll tell you a story.  Feel better?

On Labor Day, I decided to ask Jim to marry me.  I think it kinda went like this, “Jim, we should get married….”  which was followed by a lengthy period of dead silence.  And a lot of, “You’re kidding, right?” Actually, several days of “You’re kidding, right?”

Here it is almost Thanksgiving.  He doesn’t ask if I’m kidding anymore.  However I think he’s still shell shocked.

But since then, there have been shoes to buy, dresses to get, invitations to address, smiles, laughs…and, I’m totally realizing that I’ve been a dunce for so long to have such a good man right under my nose…and I couldn’t see under my nose (no Italian Nose Jokes there…..)

Wanna hear another story?  A long time ago, in a g….well, on a ride from here to what I believe to be the Army/Navy store in Murrell’s Inlet, Jim had the foresight to ask my dad if it would be okay with him if he married me…some day…if it ever seemed it might happen.  Dad was more than happy with that idea, with the parting shot of, “Good luck convincing her….”  My daddy knew me well.

January 26, 2013.  We’re getting married on January 26, 2013.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, My Thoughts and Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s been oh, so long….

  1. suepurdy says:

    From one complicated girl to another …. I love this story! And there’s such truth…other people can try to convince you until they are blue in the face….but until you convince yourself…it just isn’t going to happen. I guess sometimes we only can receive the gifts in our life when we are able to see them.
    And so enlightened one….what an awesome gift you’ve given yourself. Somewhere your dad is surely smiling!
    Here’s hoping your wisdom rubs off on the rest of us 🙂
    Sue

    PS…You may have even inspired me to dust off my unused wordpress account and find something to write about..which I’ve been complemplating forever.

    Like

  2. Cricket says:

    Congratulations to you & Jim. And thanks for a great story. See you at the wedding (if not before).

    Like

  3. Lindsay says:

    That’s so awesome! Congratulations!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

