Oh, the food we will have as leftovers…


I have to say – most of the stuff I made for thanksgiving came out pretty good.  Every year it seems I make up a new stuffing (dressing, since I don’t put it in the bird) recipe…This year, I started with cheap, home-made (from the box of Jiffy Mix) cornbread, then added veggie bacon cut into little lardons, green onion, mushrooms, celery, bell pepper, veggie broth and then Sage, White Pepper and Northwoods seasoning (Penzey’s spices…).  After combining it all, I put it into my cast iron skillet and baked it in the oven for around 20 minutes, then around 25 min, after the bird was done reheating.

That was my good thing…and, my dessert of Pecan Struesel topped Pumpkin Pie was darn good too.

I stole and modified a root vegetable and bread salad from Rachael Ray – enhanced it with additional veggies aside from onion, parsnips & carrots…put in turnips and beets….and used Trader Joe’s White Balsamic vinegar instead of lemon juice.  Rockin.

So, how was your meal?

Actually, better than the meal was the company.  Friends.  Good friends that I haven’t seen in a while…and of course, my family.  Food was good.  Company was GREAT.  Have a blessed holiday season – whatever holiday you celebrate.  And no, I’m not afraid to say Merry Christmas…I just don’t think it’s time yet.  🙂

 

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Food, Journaling, My Thoughts and Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh, the food we will have as leftovers…

  1. Oh, sounds yummy! My day was more quiet then yours, but birdie, stuffing, lots of veggies, sweets, yardwork, poetry writing, curling with a good book (thank you Jesus for healing sight) and just when I thought I’d never eat again, I remembered I’d baked a loaf of bread earlier, and had a piece (okay 2) with Nutella on it. Big smile. Gonna have one now, too! How’s that for TMI? So blessed to “see” how full of the joy of the Lord you are, Mary (and Jim)

    Like

Leave a Reply

