New Recipe – Lentil Soup, vegetarian style…


Mom was looking at Progresso soups on Sunday.  She said she wanted to buy their Lentil soup but it had like a trillion mg of sodium in it.  I told her I bet I could make some with the lentils we had and some veggie broth (which I happened to have too!)

So, at lunchtime, I put this together…in fewer than 30 minutes!

1 tbsp olive oil

5 slices of veggie bacon

1 small onion diced

1 small green pepper diced

1 tsp sweet paprika

¾-1 bag of lentils (I used the Goya bag)

1 box (carton, approx 1 qt) of vegetable broth – lo sodium if possible

1 cup white wine

2 cups water

2 large Turkish bay leaves

Salt & pepper to taste

Two handfuls of chopped fresh kale

1 large or 2 small carrots diced into small cubes

Heat oil in soup pot.  Sauté “bacon”, onion and pepper for about 2 minutes, add paprika.  Sauté until browned.  Add lentils and stir for a few moments, coating with residual oil, and incorporating lentils to the softened veggies and “bacon”. Add broth, wine, water, and bay leaves.  Let simmer for 30 minutes.  Season to taste.  Add kale.

Approx. 30 minutes prior to serving, add diced carrots and simmer until serving time. 

I served it with a green salad, and some homemade bread.  Also, I put a dollop of sour cream (low fat), greek yogurt (fat free) and Penzey’s Green Goddess mix (it was about 2 tbsp of each dairy product and 1 tbsp of seasoning)

It was REALLY good.  And of course, it will be even better a day later!!

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Recipe – Lentil Soup, vegetarian style…

  1. Reblogged this on In Love With The Lord Poetry and Prose and commented:
    The link to this recipe was just added to my Recipe Page here on this blog. Check it out, my friend’s an amazing cook and baker, but lives too far away for me to “show up with fork in hand.” Sigh.

    Like

  2. Hey, I reblogged this as well as posting a link to it on my RECIPE page on my http://inlovewiththelord.wordpress.com/ (I have 2 others on WordPress you see) My readers are also foodies so they are sure to be drawn to your recipes! If you have more I should feature with links but may have missed let me know!

    Like

Leave a Reply

