For the new year, a smoothie recipe


smoothie

smoothie (Photo credit: careyelaine)

Now, don’t go thinking I’m doing this for you – I’m doing it for me.  Cuz it was so darn good.

I call it the modified oatmeal cookie smoothie.

1 c soy milk (you can use regular milk, or vanilla soy milk)

1 tbsp vanilla protein powder

2 tbsp organic oats

1 tsp Penzeys Baking Spice (just plain ole cinnamon would work too)

2 tbsp golden raisins

2 tbsp plain greek yogurt

1 frozen banana cut into chunks (I cut one up the night before, wrapped it in wax paper and then froze it)

I like this “night before prep” idea.

Pour the milk into a blender. Add all the rest of the ingredients EXCEPT the bananas and refrigerate overnight.  Freeze the banana chunks.

When ready, put banana chunks into blender and voila.

You may think, “Why isn’t this a banana oatmeal cookie?” but the amount of baking spice kinda masks the banana’s flavor…so…no banana in the name.  But, if it helps you to call it Banana Oatmeal Cookie, go for it.

I have NO idea what the calorie/fat/protein content is.  Honestly, I’ve been making my smoothies as two servings, and splitting it not quite in half so I have less at breakfast and more at lunch.

This one is thick and satisfying.  BTW, I could have added chia seeds too.  I just didn’t.  Oh, and I’m using Silk light soy milk.  Only 60 calories per 8 oz.

That is all.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, Food, Journaling, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to For the new year, a smoothie recipe

  1. Reblogged this on In Love With The Lord Poetry and Prose and commented:
    Okay, this sounds awesome guys! Next time I update my recipe page the link to this on Mary’s blog will be on there, but her blog already is, so check it out!

    Like

  2. jennyelaine says:

    Yummy!! I have to try this!! Kinda sounds like a banana bread smoothie too…hehe!

    Like

  3. Yum! I need to try this recipe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

