Walking On Water in the 21st Century


What’s it like in this era to say you’veWalk_on_Water “walked on water”?  What would be the modern-day cultural equivalent?

Many of us, I’m sure, feel as if we manage the impossible every day…and we also manage to not accomplish our goals.  While I place a high value on the day to day struggles we *all* face, I’m speaking of that true leap of faith.  Staring into the darkness, knowing that while no light is visible, there *is* a light and it will be the beacon that leads you forward.

Equate a situation to Peter – upon seeing the Lord walking on water towards the boat – he says, “Lord, if it is you, tell me to come to you on the water” (Matthew 14:27 NIV) Here’s the situation.

You have a job.  It’s not great, but it’s a job.  You get up, you take your shower, you go to work, you come home and you collapse on the bed until the next morning when you…get up, take your shower, go to work, come home and collapse.  It might be a job that pays the bills, it might not.  Regardless of the monetary scenario, it is a job.  Not life giving, not connecting to your purpose in God’s eyes.

What if.  I said it.  WHAT IF.

Instead of coasting through a life of just getting by, what if you realized you had gifts?  Spiritual gifts, GOD given gifts.  They were given to you with the expressed purpose of being used.  They were given out of Love from our Father, for you to further the Kingdom.  Let’s say you have the gift of creative expression – and I’m using that one because it’s a HARD one to immediately morph into a “well paying job” in your mind.  Creative expression (drawing, playing an instrument, carving, knitting, design work) is a gift from God.  Some may think of it as a “side gift” – something to be used in your spare time.  Something to pass the time between when you get up and go to work.  A real job.

I say (and maybe it’s from above…because I feel it in my heart and soul) that sometimes the “spare time” gift is not really for your spare time at all but for your FULL TIME FOCUS.  Example, of course.

My gift may be art.  And, in that creative-art-expression gift, I find myself doodling while I’m sitting in church waiting on Bible Study to begin.  My friend’s six year old son comes up to me and asks, “Whatcha doin?”  I tell him I’m drawing a picture.  He wants to draw too.  So, he sits beside me and I give him one side of my notebook to draw on, and I continue to draw on the other.  While we’re drawing, we start talking about a bible story – the one where Jesus has the disciples cast their nets to the other side of the boat and many fish are caught.  He wondered if Jesus could see the fish, or how he knew.  We decided to draw our own pictures of the story.

His mom came to get him so we could go to Bible Study and he told her all about our talk.  After class, my friend said to me, “I don’t know if you know this but the position of Preschool Minister is vacant at our church.  Have you ever considered guiding our little ones to Christ with your talents?  I know you have a job, but you would be perfect for this one, and it’s got benefits…”

Right there in that moment, the “spare time spiritual gift” became a real job.  In the Kingdom.

No, that person isn’t me.  But – that person – who COULD be me…or you…or…someone you happen to know – might just need a nudge to “get out of the boat” and to “walk on water” by following what God might be asking him or her to do.

There’s a catch tho – remember this.  After Peter got out of the boat, he realized the wind, and the waves…and he TOOK HIS EYES off Jesus.  In that brief moment, he began to sink.

We are human.  We take our eyes off Jesus all the time.  And we begin to sink.  The hardest part about faith isn’t having it – it’s keeping it strong and making it the tie that binds you to Jesus and the abundant life he wants you to have.

In my former lives, when I’ve stepped out in faith – be it leaving a job that was providing well for me, or leaving a dangerous relationship – I didn’t look back, I just stepped out.  It wasn’t easy, but I did what I had to do to get me on to my next chapter.  The odd thing was, at that point in my life I didn’t know I had Jesus to fix my eyes on, and frequently, I would sink!

So…today’s lesson…step out in faith, for when you have your eyes on our Lord and Savior, you will not only walk on water, your talents will be raised up to the Glory of the Lord!

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in God, My Thoughts and Musings, The Bible and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walking On Water in the 21st Century

  1. Cricket says:

    You also have a gift for writing.

    Like

  2. maryaquino says:

    I always wanted to be a published writer…thanks to the web, I am. 🙂 I don’t actually have the gift of drawing – really….that was my dad, not me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

