Brussels Sprouts…


Yes, you spell it like that, by the way…

I am a fan of all things green – mostly green and leafy – cuz I don’t *love* lima beans and they’re green.  And, when i saw the jumbo economy size bag of brussels sprouts at Costco today…….well….I had to.

I decided I was gonna use them for lunchtime.  This week.  In an effort to not eat like a pig at least two meals a day.  They’re 0 Weight Watchers points.  In case you need to know.

So, I roasted them (or else they would have grown pale green and fuzzy by the end of the week.  That’s my luck with veggies when I buy lots.

Here is my super duper simple recipe with places where you can invent:

Clean and halve the brussels sprouts.  (I think this was a 4 lb bag)

Place on a baking sheet in a single layer, with space btwn them.

Spray with cooking spray (that’s my no-calorie, no point, no fat version…for flavor, drizzle with olive oil)

Liberally sprinkle sea salt on them.  

Roast in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes.  My mom’s oven is unreliable, so I checked after 20 minutes and they needed about 5 more minutes.  You may not need to do that.

Remove from baking sheet and sprinkle with cracked black pepper and a couple of dashes of ground ancho chili pepper.  

Also would be good:  smoked paprika, lemon zest, plain chili powder…and the likes…any of the above.

Hope this is helpful.  

Jim wants me to mention that anchovies look like eyebrows and taste like fish.  Has very little to do with this particular post…but, I wanted to honor my husband and his request.

Image

 

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Daily Fat Fight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Brussels Sprouts…

  1. Reblogged this on In Love With The Lord Poetry and Prose and commented:
    Okay, I love brussel sprouts. Check out my friend Mary’s recipe. Yum. Oh and she’s another transplant from MA like me so you should pop over to her blog and read her piece on Boston, too!

    Like

  2. I LOVE Brussels sprouts cooked like this…easy peasy and very, very tasty!! Love the additional spices ideas…gotta try!! THANK YOU!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. Cricket says:

    Also good drizzled with balsamic vinegar, though that probably has more sugar than you want.

    Like

Leave a Reply

