Blessings from a weekend spent with Christ


Many will agree that Camp St. Christopher on Seabrook Island is a God filled place.  To stand in Kimbel Chapel and merely look out the window bank allows an infilling of the Holy Spirit…at least for me.

Cursillo is that type of experience for me – spending time away from the “real world” and drawing closer to my Savior.  Each weekend I experience I learn more and more.

This weekend most of what I learned was about prayer.  Not “how to pray” but just “pray”.

Some of my friends are self proclaimed atheists and consider God a non-entity.  I love and respect the choice.  With any luck, they love and respect my choice to believe that when our time here on earth is done, that we have been promised abundant riches in Heaven…and through dedicating your time here on earth to walking with Christ, you can experience all that God has in store for you in THIS life.  Jeremiah 29:11 tells us his plans are specifically for us, and they will not harm us….but instead provide abundant life.  I hope that my non-believing friends don’t mind that I pray for them to receive this gift of abundant life.  We should all be able to live into what the Almighty has in store for us.

Well, this weekend, I learned that in order to live that abundant life constant prayer is required.  It should never be a “chore” but a gift given with pleasure and glee.  I pray for us all to live into our futures using the gifts God gave us, and finding the true fulfillment he desires for us.

Love to you all.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, Cursillo, God, Journaling, My Thoughts and Musings, Service to Others, The Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blessings from a weekend spent with Christ

  1. Love this post, Mary! Jeremiah 29:11 fills me with abundant hope. Camp St Christopher is an anointed place for sure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

