Obedience and Prayer


Two things I’ve learned (well, really re-learned) this week have been about obedience and prayer.

Let’s start with obedience.  I’ve been reading my daily meditations and have my “delivered to my inbox” devotions.  Normally on Sundays I’m turned off by the one called God’s Minute because on weekends, frequently he sends cutesy poems, or silly stories…and it’s just not my thing.  Today, he ROPED me in with this quote to start with:

All these blessings will come upon you and
accompany you if you obey the LORD your
God:  You will be blessed in the city and
blessed in the country.  You will be blessed
when you come in and blessed when you
go out.
( Deuteronomy 28:2,3 & 6 *NIV )

Now, I’m no Deuteronomy scholar, but I read the first verse and the word that jumped out at me was OBEY.  Not so much because it is a difficult word but because the blessings that came from obedience.  Obedience to God…obedience through prayer and supplication.

So check this out…I always read the daily Bible Gateway quote.  Here’s today’s from PAUL:  I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. Philippians 3:14

Do you see the connection?  The goal, the prize…come thru obedience.  Obedience to your relationship with our Savior.  Obedience in all ways…which brings me to my next point.

Today is my prayer day for my Cursillo team.  Team 171.  I spend my day thinking of each of them, praying for them, visualizing our group glorifying God thru service…Praising our Savior and King though “washing the feet” of our particpants – all who have been *chosen by God* to be at Camp in October…already.

I prayed when I woke up.  I prayed in the shower, I prayed when I drove to Church.  I asked my church family to pray for team.  I prayed when I had a few quiet moments before service began.  I prayed when I went up to communion.  I prayed on the way home.  I prayed while I was resting.  I prayed just a few moments ago too.

And, in some odd way, God was reminding me how important prayer is because of all the songs I heard on the way to church, the only one I knew was Sanctus Real’s “new” song Pray.  On the way HOME from church, I got sick of listening to songs I didn’t know so I shut off the radio and listened for God’s voice.  Oddly, about 10 minutes later, I truly felt him say to me, “Turn ON the radio, Mary…”  What song came on?  Well, listen:

Pray – Sanctus Real

Team, this is my devotional to you this week.  I will send my “musings” in an email with a link to this particular Blog every week.  When you have time to read it, please do…or, just tell me you are…don’t bruise my ego by telling me you’re not reading it.  (Just kidding…It’s all good)  If you feel moved to comment, you are welcome to comment.  If you feel you want to forward it to someone else, that’s fine too.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, Cursillo, God, My Thoughts and Musings, Team 171 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

