On My Shoulder


I know, we often hear about the angel on our shoulder…and it’s a glorious thought…guiding you towards the light…well, let me tell you about what’s on my shoulder.

On my shoulder, whispering loudly in an ear that is deaf to most of you but hears clearly to this resident is the Evil one.  He sits there all day, telling me how disorganized I am, and how I am invisible to most people.  He tells me about how I am not smart, or helpful.  He points out my every flaw and reminds me how absolutely human I am…He tries to trick me by telling me that my abundant humanity makes me unfit for a relationship with God.  He reminds me of my continual sin and coaxes me to keep it coming.

He does sit there daily.  Some days he innocuous.  Some day he is a DRUM CORP OF CRASHING REMINDERS IN MY DEAF EAR.  Now, the hard thing is to actually turn the deaf ear to him.

Why am I telling you all this today?  Because, Satan has been taking a hammer to my head and my heart today.  It’s been building all week.  I can see myself wanting to hide in my room, kick the world out and wallow in my sad and sorrowful emotions.  He wants me to give in to the mean-hearted thoughts I’ve been harboring and lash out…somehow revel in hurting someone else’s feelings.

Instead, I am desperately reaching out for Christ.  I am looking to the Gospel of John: “Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.”

Gosh, I am fruitless if I do not draw closer to Christ.  Today’s devotional (Proverbs 31 Ministries) reminds me that in these times of trial, do not shrink away from Christ even though we may feel we should.  Instead, reach out your hand.  Reach towards the Son and he will abide in you if you abide in him.

And, wow…one of my other devotionals reminded me:  Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the LORD your God, He is the One who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you.”  ( Deuteronomy 31:6 *NKJV )  He goes with me.  He is with me.  He won’t leave me.  So, here I sit trying to remind myself to look up…look for Jesus.  Look for the Light.  Look for the Truth.

Turn your head, oh sister…turn it and shout, “GET AWAY SATAN…”

Yeah, I’m usually peppy and positive.  This one is a reminder that the Evil One does his work by fouling your mind first.  Then, he encourages you to follow through on the negative, bad thoughts and act badly.  This is a reminder to me, and a reminder to you…Look towards Jesus…look towards the Light.  He will guide you in the paths of right actions and good thoughts.  He will guard you under the shadow of his wings.

Peace to you.

Psalm 62defeatsatan

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in God, Journaling, My Thoughts and Musings, The Bible and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On My Shoulder

  1. Eliza says:

    Seeing then that we have a great High Priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need. Hebrews 4:14-16 Thank you for the good reminder. God bless you:)
    http://holdingforthhisword.wordpress.com/2013/07/31/jesus-christ-the-cornerstone/

    Like

  2. Maryanne Robinson says:

    Absolutely positive words of affirmation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

