Juice?


No, we’re not talking A-Rod here.  If you know me, you know I would not bother talking about anything having to do with the Yankees.

Just talking juice.  Last week I pureed some wonderful mangoes with some watermelon and came up with a delicious juice that lasted me for about 4 days.  4 mangoes, half a watermelon, 4 days of lucious juice.  That one I did with my hand blender.

This week I cut up what turned out to be 3 mangoes and a whole canteloupe.  I added a squeeze of a lime…ok, a whole lime’s juice…and had to blend in the blendere.  Still, about 4 days worth of juice.

Well, last night on Ellen, Jessica Alba was talking about a green smoothie.  I think that’s next on my list.  Kale, cucumbers, ginger, apples and lemon juice.  I may add in some spinach too.

Why all this home-juicing?  Because I’m sick and tired of finding that my juice companies are either misrepresenting themselves (Naked) or owned by some big conglomerate (Bolthouse) or can’t really provide me with what I want to know (no GMO…organic).  So, I will get my own organic (or locally grown since organic is kinda difficult to find around here), and make a smoothie/juice I can store for a while and enjoy.

I think it might just be my new trend.  I might even ask for a juicer attachment for the Kitchen Aid for Christmas.  who knows.

Until later, y’all….green

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, Daily Fat Fight, Food, Journaling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

