Silence is Golden…Or So I’ve Heard….


I found out this week that I’m not the only one in the world who has a problem quieting my mind when I am seeking to be with Christ.  Now, you may think me odd to have believed it was a “Mary affliction” but…I don’t know how other people meditate – so, I did believe that I was “different” in this way. In Wendy Pope’s devotional the other day, she confessed that she too has so much going on in her head that it is hard for her to truly quiet her mind and truly live up to Psalm 131:2a : “But I have stilled and quieted my soul.”

Those that know me well know that my “Attention Deficit Disorder” mind has a will to change gears on me very rapidly (squirrel!)  I find my “quiet mind” is nothing more than a temporary lack of thought…that is quickly filled by some random thing floating in and then out of my mind.  It’s why a lot of my “quiet time” with Jesus is typically not quite as quiet as it should be – music has a part in my quiet time to keep me focused.

Two songs that helped this week:  Just Say Jesus by 7eventh Time Down and We Won’t Be Shaken by Building 429  Both songs have a thread of Jesus being the Foundation of all we are.  A focal point.  Something that keeps us focused.  Just exactly what I need more often than not.

So, my week has still remained fruitful, prayer-wise although I have been acutely aware of my unique style of prayer maybe never moreso than this week…I was blessed Tuesday to have a 2 1/2 hour commute to work…that allowed for me to pray and praise – sing praise songs along with the radio, and pray.  One thing I tried on that drive was a tool I learned from Renee Swope on Proverbs 31’s site (as you can tell, I like that site a lot!)

Renee mentioned that when she listens for God, she sometimes gets distracted by the silence and starts thinking about other things.  Gee!  Another “wow” moment because that happens to me too!  Here’s her pod-cast called Listening Out Loud.  What I liked about her idea is – that as you LISTEN out loud, you are channeling God’s words for you….that typically come in silence but by speaking, we externalize AND internalize what comes to us from God.  It is empowering!  Especially if you have the tendency to get distracted.  Listen to her podcast – she explains it better than I do.

Anyway, Renee and Wendy are my “mentors for the week” where prayer is considered.  I needed to know that my oddball prayer methods, mixing of all mediums, silence, speech, music, singing, reading…well, all that stuff…were okie dokie where God is concerned…and I think they are.  Makes me think of this passage from Psalm 139 1-6:

1 O Lord, you have searched me and known me!
2 You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
you discern my thoughts from afar.
3 You search out my path and my lying down
and are acquainted with all my ways.
4 Even before a word is on my tongue,
behold, O Lord, you know it altogether.
5 You hem me in, behind and before,
and lay your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
it is high; I cannot attain it.

So important to know how God knows everything about us and desires a relationship with us.  We are each unique in our ways…and God loves us in our uniqueness.

Blessings to all of you – sending out love and prayers.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Cursillo, God, Journaling, Music, My Thoughts and Musings, Team 171 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Silence is Golden…Or So I’ve Heard….

  1. mr. mary Aquino says:

    I like waffles…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

