Simon Peter is Alive and Well…and he is me….


Sheep_Bread

I’ve always felt this kinda obtuse connection to Peter.  From his amazing walking on … and then sinking in … water, to his uncanny ability of saying the wrong thing at every possible wrong time…to denying that which he loved so deeply…to being redeemed and expressing how truly TRULY devoted he was to the Lord Jesus…well, I know I’d be just like him if I lived back in Jesus time.

Here’s just one example of my incredible ability to miss the forests…for the trees.

By now you know that our saint for the weekend is Peter.  And I do connect so with the verse from John – John 21 – where Christ asks Simon Peter three times whether he loves him.

 Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Feed my lambs.” 16 He said to him a second time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Tend my sheep.” 17 He said to him the third time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” Peter was grieved because he said to him the third time, “Do you love me?” and he said to him, “Lord, you know everything; you know that I love you.” Jesus said to him, “Feed my sheep.”       John 21:15-17  

I believe that God gave me a tap on the shoulder (probably more like a Jethro Gibbs slap upside the head…not hard, but firmly) .  I was explaining this to Jim this morning…

So, I found that geee…..there are letters.  From Peter.  1 Peter, and 2 Peter.  See, I am a neophyte bible studier…I knew that the letters were there.  But, thinking how Paul wrote:  Romans, Ephesians, Corinthians, Philippians…those were letters FROM Paul to…so, I just thought that the 1Peter and 2 Peter were letters from … maybe Paul to Peter.  No.  Just realized yesterday they’re from Peter.  So…in an effort to learn more about our saint, I’ve set about reading 1 Peter and 2 Peter.  That, of course, means I’m on hold with Proverbs for now.  But, I will get back to Proverbs because I know the Lord is CALLING ME to read Proverbs.  And I will.

I somehow think that if I were Peter, and he were me…he would be writing this same post.  About me.

Anyway, I am beginning to read 1Peter.  And here…right up there in the front row…is this beautiful expression of faith, and it’s rewards:

 8 Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, 9 for you are receiving the end result of your faith, the salvation of your souls.  1Peter1:8-9

We know from Paul that faith is one of the three things that remain.  Here in 1Peter, we are reassured that Salvation is ours as a result of our faith in Jesus.

So, we’ve got this salvation thing covered….are we free to do what we want, after we believe and say we have faith in Him who is our savior?  Can we just wander about the universe expecting God to forgive us our myraid sins?  Well, we are blessed that he DOES see us through Jesus goggles (you’ve heard of beer goggles?  I figure God wears Jesus goggles…seeing us as washed clean in the blood of the Lamb…therefore perfect) but wouldn’t it just be better if we STROVE to be like Christ instead of just letting his sacrifice cancel out our sin?

Okay.  That’s deep enough.

Couple of great songs for this week…I found the first song to be something that really connected with me when I started listening to Christian music.

Tenth Avenue North You Are More

It took me a while to start really liking Third Day…but now that I do…I found so much inspiration in their words and their music frequently reminds me of some of the non-Christian artists I listen to.

Third Day – Your Love Is Like A River 

Have a Blessed week!

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in God, Journaling, Team 171, The Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simon Peter is Alive and Well…and he is me….

  1. I Peter I my go-to book these days, and has been since I was called away from my old church and called to the planting of what in now called Grace Parish…..it seems to have all the answers for my leaving and planting…..love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

