Feed My sheep…


 Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Feed my lambs.” 16 He said to him a second time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Tend my sheep.” 17 He said to him the third time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” Peter was grieved because he said to him the third time, “Do you love me?” and he said to him, “Lord, you know everything; you know that I love you.” Jesus said to him, “Feed my sheep.

John 21:15-17

graceAs we come down to the end of our journey…this amazing preparation for Cursillo 171, my heart is full of all the amazing growth I’ve seen in myself and the connection which has happened as a team.  I really DIDN’T know how things would turn out, except that GOD had it in His hands.

We talked a lot today about the first being last, and the last being first – and not to be expecting to sit at the head of the table…expect the least and you may be rewarded with the most.

But, also remember, my loves – you are NOT the least of all…you are each children of the King.  You are each a Child of God.  So, you are saved, redeemed, beloved.

One of the reasons I chose Peter as our saint was that he is the most blatantly human, and frequently stands in juxtoposition to Jesus.  His human-ness is crystal clear when held up to Christ’s perfection.

When we get to camp on Wednesday, one of the “teaching points” I want to offer is about Peter, and how we can be like him … and strive to be a foundation on which Christ relies upon.

Now, while meditating on our verse at the top of this blog, I want you to take a listen to yet another song that is, by my estimation, a great telling of how we all sometimes feel, and yet what we SHOULD remember:  Jason Gray  Remind Me Who I Am.

I want you to know also that this song has been on my heart for quite a while – it’s kinda a “crossover tune” from a South Carolina band named Needtobreathe.  The song wound up being the “commercial” song for Overstock.com a few years back, but whe you might not know is, Needtobreathe is a Christian band…or they started as a Christian band.  So, I want you ALL to know you are Something Beautiful.

Be well.  Remember how much you are loved.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, Cursillo, God, My Thoughts and Musings, Team 171 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feed My sheep…

  1. pandccrawford@aol.com says:

    I love that song!

    Like

Leave a Reply

