Winding down…and gearing up…


Last week I made myself a promise after reading one of my devotionals that I would spend quiet morning time in prayer and in The Word.  I typically read my devotionals early, but not all in a row…and sometimes I just read them and don’t pray on them…and sometimes I read one, and get interrupted and then come back to them when I get a chance.  Not devoting my full attention to prayer and study.  Yeah, I’m coming clean with you all.  My scatter-brained self is scattered in prayer/study too.

Well, so I decided that I would focus.  (Which is kinda funny if you know me well.)  I want to give God my full attention.  Yet sometimes I give him my full attention deficit disorder instead.  But…yesterday, I actually had the opportunity (twice) to pray for a mile’s worth of road between Georgetown and Charleston Counties on 17.  It’s been labled the Prayer Mile … although the signs are no longer there, I try to take that mile and pray unceasingly for that minute…or so…

It’s kinda funny, because I do take a moment before my feet hit the floor to thank God for allowing me to make it through the night and for opening my eyes in the morning – for all that has come before and all that is to come.  So, at least I’m not disorganized about that.

Anyway, this isn’t really what I was going to blog about.  Says she 200 words later…

For those who have been faithfully reading my blog these past 12ish weeks, I hope it has blessed you – and let me say that you have encouraged me by reading and commenting – I am blessed that anyone reads what I’m thinking…as this preparatory season leading up to Cursillo 171 draws to a close and the weekend approaches, I still want to continue blogging about my connection thru prayer and service to God and my journey to shine His light on everyone I encounter.

Of course, from time to time, I reserve the right to blog about other stuff too.  🙂

This Blog is dedicated to the connection between the winding down of our preparations for the upcoming Cursillo weekend and the gearing up for the weekend itself.  While I don’t feel at all as if I have slowed down at all (winding down)… I know that my pre-cursillo preparations are turning to Cursillo weekend preparations.  All the prayer and study, reading, listening is now at the point of printing, filing, packing, baking (communion bread)…printing some more, emailing, helping mom pack, seeing that everything we need is set for taking the doggie to her play-place…praying, studying….packing some more.  (Gearing up)

Here’s what I’m thinking about – I’ve been thinking similar thoughts all day.  We discussed at church today the concept that St. Francis made so famous: Preach the gospel when you can, if needed use words.

I know that I can’t always use words to preach the gospel, but I can shine as much of Jesus’ light into the world as possible.  Be a good person.  Do good things.  Pray for guidance.  I know I can’t affect everyone, but I can make an effect on one person.  And, come to find out, Biblegateway.com’s verse of the day is this:

Everyone who does evil hates the light, and will not come into the light for fear that their deeds will be exposed. But whoever lives by the truth comes into the light, so that it may be seen plainly that what they have done has been done in the sight of God. John 3:20-21 NIV

I live in the truth that Christ is my Savior, and by his blood we are washed clean.  I live in the truth that our God is a loving God who sees perfection in every one of his children because he sees through the life and light of Christ – with Christ as our protector, we are perfect in God’s sight…as broken and imperfect as we are.

So, if in my truth, I am in The Light – I hope that light will be a ray of brightness to someone who needs to see more clearly.  I pray that in my little corner of the world, I can make an impact….however slight.

A couple of songs that I like…and have been on my heart this week…

Everlasting God – Lincoln Brewster

I actually KNEW about the new Casting Crowns song all this past week but hadn’t heard it until yesterday….

All You’ve Ever Wanted – Casting Crowns

And, truly one of my favorite Christian artists, Matthew West

Matthew West – Forgiveness

Finally, a song from a great group I’ve “quoted” on here before:  Needtobreathe

Washed by the Water – Needtobreathe

Have a blessed week….

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Cursillo, God, Journaling, My Thoughts and Musings, Service to Others, Team 171, The Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winding down…and gearing up…

  1. Sue Davis says:

    Thanks for this blessing to start my day and week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

