What’s in a Resolution?


HNYOkay, so New Years resolutions are a few days past, but we all at least briefly ponder them as the new year begins, right?  You may not make them, but just in celebrating a new year starting, you’re kinda celebrating a new beginning, right?

I don’t typically make resolutions because the standard ones kinda bore me.  Lose weight, read more, get organized.  I have made them all.  And as resolutions typically fall…by February, they’re a distant memory.  But, this year, I had a few that were weighing heavily on me.  So, I made a “punch list”.  Here it is, and they’re not really in a proper order…just as I remember what they are (always a feat around here).

1.  Fear less.  A few times in the past two months, I’ve heard that the saying Fear Not occurs in some iteration 365 times in The Bible.  One for each day of the year.  Last year, there were a few periods of time I was crippled by fear.  It might have been just for a few hours in a day but that feeling is one I don’t ASK for.  On this particular topic, it’s best to remember that God did not put anything here in your path that you should fear.  Remember, He’s with you – so…if Our God is for us, who can stand against us?  Certainly not the evil one.  Therefore, when I’m feeling the entanglement of fear coming on (it’s tangible when it does…at least for me), I am going to remind myself…Jeremiah 29:11-13.  And, Philippians 4:13.  My God is my rock, my stronghold.  He is my Strong Tower.

2.  Health-out!  My odd way of saying, pay attention to what is going INTO my body.  More power greens.  More anti-oxidant rich fruits and vegetables.  More organic.  More nonGMO.  Water.  Water.  Water.  Less fish – even though I love my seafood, I overdid it at Christmas and I really don’t want to feel that way again! Y’know, I’ve always heard it said that we are made in God’s image…and I’m thinking that allowing his image to be messed up the way I have – just being overindulgent…I don’t think he would want that.  Of course, I read a couple of weeks ago that when we make excuses for overating like, “I have no willpower” we are lying to ourselves.  Again, Paul tells us in Philippians that “I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.” (sorry for the repeat reference)

3.  Exercise.  Yes, while this does go with the above, it has it’s own number in the punch list.  Why?  Because I have to separate it due to the fact that I really don’t LIKE to exercise.  If I could be the stick figure, buffed out person without lifting a finger to work out, I would.  But, I’m 50 years old and that just ain’t my metabolism.  I have to work out.  So, instead of getting wider, getting older, and getting on cholesterol control meds, I am back working out at the gym.  Today was an off day, just an FYI.  I’m back at it tomorrow…night.  I want to exude being fearfully and wonderfully made (Ps 139:14)

4.  Read.  I haven’t shared this with many since it’s only day 16 and I’m not at the 21 days makes a habit thing yet…but, I’m on a plan to read The Bible in a year.  No, I didn’t start with Genesis … wait, I did start with Genesis but it’s a YouVersion app that provides you all the readings (7 per day) to get you through the whole thing.  I continue to revel in my Joyce Meyers devotional, and it has fed me greatly.  But, The Bible is one I didn’t think I’d be able to do.  So…I hesitatingly tell you all that is this year’s quest.  The best thing about the app is that it reminds me every day to read.  It pops up on my phone and all I have to do is click it.  Bam.

5.  Help others.  In this, I mean humans.  I have always tried to help cute needle-nosed canines and won’t stop that but…I am on a quest.  The quest includes settling into working with disadvantaged…fringe…people that don’t necessarily get included in the “normal” society.  Homeless women & children.  Teen moms (which lean very close to the prior one).  Any child that does not know where his or her next meal will come from.  It’s just wrong.  Kids shouldn’t know hunger.  And, the elderly – those who are alone.  No family to help them through the wonderful world of aging and sickness.  Those who don’t know to ask questions.  The, of course…those on this earth that are not able to speak up for themselves.  We have been tasked by God to take care of our brothers and sisters.  We do it so poorly.  I want to help there.

6. Be the best wife and daughter I can be.  I strive to do this every day and I’m best at seeing where I fail.  I look to my parents as role models of the perfect marriage…and I know I fall short of that frequently.  I want to be Jim’s biggest fan, strongest supporter, most avid listener and carer.  He is my rock, and I want to be his.

It’s such a long list.  I know I can’t do all of it 100% successfully.  I am not going to give up because it seems unachievable.  I am going to keep stretching, reaching, striving.  I will falter.  But, I will find my way.  I do have God with me.  And that is always a feeling of comfort and strength.

So, what’s in a resolution?  Me.  Supported by My God.  Steeped in my Faith.  Surrounded by my family and friends.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, Dad, God, Greyhounds, Journaling, My Thoughts and Musings, Service to Others, The Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s in a Resolution?

  1. GodGirl says:

    I’m so inspired by your list, and the faith evidenced in it. I desire similar things – and I like that you point out that we can fulfill our resolutions with the support of God and the people in our lives. So true (healthy accountability is wonderful).

    Like

Leave a Reply

