Fragile


Y’know, I know we are only here on this earth for what amounts to a micro-second compared to eternity. And, I know that “to everything there is a season…” but sometimes I have to furrow my brow, and wrinkle my nose a bit because it seems odd.

I love Facebook.  It has reconnected me with people I thought I would never see or hear from again. It has allowed me to get to know parts of my family I might not have been able to “see” otherwise. It has drawn me close to friends in faith, and has kept me deeply connected with some of the most wonderful people I have the pleasure of calling friends.

And tonight, it caught me completely off guard in telling me that someone I spent TONS of time with in college (Salem State) has passed. Now, I hadn’t seen her in probably 15 years…we had lost touch. But we reconnected after dad died…her mom had just died. We planned to get together on this trip to MA in 3 weeks.

It knocked the wind out of me. How is this so? She was about 6 months younger than I. How can it be that she is gone? That’s too young. Her kids…she has 2…what about them? How unfair. I don’t know….all these odd thoughts going round in my head…

Defying logic, I cling to the promises that we are washed clean in the blood of the lamb. Our Savior overcame death so that we shall not die but be with Him in eternity. Paula, today, hou are there, in the presence of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. You are at the banquet with him, and all the saints. You are with your mom. Heck, you are with my dad…

Yea, tho I walk throught the valley of darkness
I fear nothing
For you are with me

Peace, dear friend…

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Journaling, My Thoughts and Musings, The Bible and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

