Tuscan Herb Flatbread


First off, this isn’t my recipe. I can’t claim it for myself. It is, however, adapted by me. And it came out pretty good so…here we go.

3 cups flour (I use organic unbleached AP flour but whatever floats your boat)

2 tsp kosher salt

1 packet active dry yeast (Actually, I use 2 1/4 tsp, which is equivalent)

1 c lukewarm water

5 tbsp olive oil

2-3 tbsp finely chopped tuscan herbs – fresh – basil, thyme, oregano and I added 1 small clove of garlic but I’d do 2 small or 1 large when I do it again.

Mix the water and yeast together – let stand for 15 minutes

I’m not a purist anymore. As much as I love kneading bread by hand, the Kitchen Aid makes it so easy. SOOOO…..

In the bowl of your 5 1/4 c. Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer, mix the salt and flour. Make a well in the center large enuf to hold the water and yeast mixture PLUS 4 tbsp of olive oil.

Chop the herbs – incorporate with the garlic if you are adding that and set aside.

Pour the water/yeast mixture and 4 tbsp of olive oil into the well made in the flour. With the bread hook attachment, mix the flour into the liquid on low until a nice cohesive dough is formed.

Knead the bread in the bowl on medium speed. At this point I incorporated the herbs and let them knead into the bread. As always, you knead until smooth and elastic.

Form the dough into a ball, place in a clean bowl, and coat with the other tbsp of olive oil Cover the bowl with a towel or plastic wrap and set to rest in a warm, dry place until doubled in size – about 90 minutes to two hours.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees once the dough has risen. Punch down and knead in more herbs if desired. I added a few more…not required but I wanted it especially herby.

Shape into about a 12″ round and dimple with the tips of your fingers. Bake 35 minutes.

Might come out looking a bit like the bread pictured here :

bread

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Food, Journaling, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

