Update on the whole Working Out thing…


This is long overdue – I used to post updates on my Facebook page but for whatever leafy_greensreason, I’m busy working during working hours. So…here goes.

I’m on week 3 of Nutri-System. I haven’t been as “religious” about it as I should, but I try my best to stick to it 6 days a week. Saturday is tough because we have pizza night every Saturday and due to the fact that I can eat a whole large pizza on my own with no-one’s help (insert an emoji of a person stabbing another for the last piece of pizza here) I figure I’m 5 slices ahead if I just eat two pieces on Saturday night. It does beg the question of why we don’t get “extra points” for being good about not binge eating. And by extra points I do mean a significant subtraction of pounds when stepping on the scale.

I do know that I briefly lost 3 or 4 pounds. Sadly, I found them again. I don’t know if I can ever figure out how to make the scale be my friend aside from never stepping on it. After purchasing a scale last week, I weighed myself 5 times in the first two days and my weight fluctuated around 8 pounds in those 5 times so…I gave up weighing myself since the last time I stepped on it, I was up about 3 lbs from before going to the gym. I don’t know…

And, most importantly…for the past two weeks, I’ve been wearing yoga pants that previously did not fit to work out in. And, two different pairs of jeans this week fit me that didn’t fit about a month ago. That said, it’s hard for me to know for sure if I’m losing inches because the jeans I typically wear fall down regardless of how much I weigh…I don’t know – I guess they stretched out (no, no lycra in these…just plain ole Old Navy Jeans). Yeah, I’m full of conundrums this post.

I did get my measurements taken last Friday, I think. I was down an inch in bust and hips but up 2″ in my waist. Huh? See why this is so frustrating to me?

Anyway, I have been trying to do a little bit of C25K training as I can – mostly weekends because 3 days a week up at 5 AM to go to the gym, the other two work days, I am worn slap out and don’t get up until 7:30-7:45 to work.

I’m all registered for the 5K I’m walking in Denver on June 11. Check my Facebook page – I would love it if y’all donate – it’s a fundraiser for Lungforce – Lung Cancer awareness. My pal Lisa Moran is my inspiration…we’re walking together so if you can join us…DO IT!

And, I am hoping that my FINAL (yes, it’s all I can take) 3 weeks of Nutri-System will bring me to where I want to be in the weight area. Then I’ll go back to eating Real Food (no, I don’t consider Nutri-System real food. Limited scope for those of us who don’t eat meat. REALLY limited scope. Ugh.

I’m feeling a bit slimmer, but I also feel as if I’ve got a ways to go. When I see pictures of me from last year, I know I’m on the right track (hahaha…no pun intended but it’s a good one!) but I still have pictures from 2007 where I was a size 4. So…I have to reconcile the two. And, it’s very difficult. I’m not looking for pity, believe me I know there are many out there who have life much more difficult than I do and I appreciate that whole-heartedly. I am just sayin what’s on my mind with regards to my weight-gain-loss-gain-loss insanity. So…no pity here – I’m cool. I’m just hard on myself.

And I guess I’m not really 100% updating y’all on anything aside from my inability to use a scale properly and my ability to eat a whole pizza. More little known things about Mary. Do we all feel better now?

Hopefully in 3 weeks, I will have a better blog with more informative stuff. Or, maybe I’ll blog about all the wonderful things I’ll be making to keep my weight loss going post-Nutri-System. Maybe. We’ll see.

 

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, Daily Fat Fight, Journaling, My Thoughts and Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Update on the whole Working Out thing…

  1. When on a specific diet like Nutri system, you must know that your toughest time will be if you actually reach your goal weight… Then what? Do you stay on the diet for life? (I’m sure the company would like that) Do you wein off slowly? Are you ready for your internal voice to ask “What now? I’ve reached my goal! What is my motivation to keep it off?” So one thing at s time but you should be ready to answer your questions that I guarantee you will have! The Trainer Boxing/Functional Training Club Hood River http://www.thetrainerhoodriver.com

    Like

    • maryaquino says:

      Oh, I can tell you I’m going back to my “normal” diet…although Nutri-system says it has a vegetarian plan, the dinner choices are basically pasta (ravioli, shells, veggie lasagna), pizza, and mushroom risotto. I can only eat that stuff so many times.

      I do agree – I will need to motivate myself to keep it off – I think I’ll probably keep my 3 day a week trainer appointment because he “forces” me to work out (he doesn’t, I just actually GO to the gym if I have paid someone else to show up and “train” me…I’m bad about working out without that kind of motivation). I’ve tried the normal motivators – buy new clothes, throw away the old ones…that worked for a couple of years but….now I have new “fat” clothes and none of my skinny clothes! So I have to buy new clothes AGAIN.

      Yeah, I do have that “how will I maintain this” thing I have to ponder.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lindsay says:

    This probably wasn’t the intent of the post, but the whole thing (especially the first longer paragraph) made me laugh. Not at the trials of doing this, but at the “extra points” and the losing vs “finding” pounds again. πŸ™‚
    Personally, I’ve come up with a decent system for weighing myself, because I’ve found the same thing – within the same day, I can fluctuate like 5lbs. So I stick to the same scale (same gym) every time, and do it once a month or once every few weeks, whenever I remember. I wear approximately the same clothes, and I try to do it on a day when I “feel” the same. (That makes no sense to people who don’t live in my head, I realize, but on days after I swim, I feel thinner… I weigh myself on those days. ;)) For me, the consistency of time (ex: 3rd Saturday of the month, around 1pm) + clothing + “feeling” keeps me sane about the whole thing and has been providing rather consistent results. You are not alone in your scale deficiencies. πŸ™‚
    And bravo on being able to eat a whole pizza. I feel like that’s a skill I’d be happy to work on…

    Like

  3. Cricket says:

    Weight is a maddening thing – especially for women of a certain age. πŸ˜‰ You can be totally good one day & gain weight, then indulge in a slice (or two) of pizza and a beer & lose weight. Argh!!! Your observation about the scale is spot on. Your weight can & will vary throughout the day. What works for me (as far as some semblance of keeping my sanity where weight is concerned) is to only step on the scale once a day. Usually 1st thing in the morning after I’ve answered the call of nature. I calculate my loss/gain Monday to Monday.

    Like

  4. maryaquino says:

    I seem to be that person who is all or nothing. I did, however, weigh myself this morning and I am down 1 lb. I accept that. I refute any gain of weight…at any time. I have decided to only accept weight loss. I think that will work for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

