It’s All About Love


When I think of these tragedies that besiege us, I am reminded of Matthew 28, where we are commanded to make disciples of all, teaching what Jesus commanded. He commanded we love one another. I don’t know much about other religious mantras however, since My God is a God of love, I find it hard to believe in any “God” that directs his believers to kill. Even the Christian holy wars (for those of you gearing up to blast me) were not directed by God Almighty, but man. The new covenant with us, a sinful people, was that we have been washed clean by the Blood of The Lamb and therefore we shall no longer die but live on in Heaven along with the saints who have gone before us.

So, why does God make these heinous things happen? He DOESN’T. See, there’s this thing called free will. We have the ability to choose to follow God Almighty, the God of Love or “the other team” as Jim calls it. The other team may be Satan, or may be some other diety that is not a loving diety.

I’m not well-versed in other religions so I single no one out specifically. And, I am aware that as with Christianity, there are many “flavors”. Most Christian flavors believe in that all-loving God of Grace.

So, here I am rambling on about God (oh, Mary….AGAIN?) and praying that those affected by violence….those mourning a loss….those fearing society is doomed and with it so are we….I ramble on in a way of processing the continual  (pardon my French) shit-ifying of this world we were given to take care of….we should be preserving the environment, caring for all creatures, and loving/helping one another. Yet we are doing none of the above.

I’m going back to praying for peace. I am praying that animals, children,  and those who cannot care for themselves are cared for. I am also praying that the future holds some sort of hope. That’s just the way I am.

image

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, God, Journaling, My Thoughts and Musings, Service to Others, The Bible and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s All About Love

  1. Sue Davis says:

    Amen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

