Mushroom Almond “Fried” Rice


I have a renewed desire to make fresh, veggie-rich, fiber-laden dishes lately. Today, while thinking I was gonna make a mushroom-spinach-feta omelette for dinner, I realized I might have just a little too much in the omelette. Therefore, I decided to use up the brown rice from Thursday night with my sautéd mushrooms, onion, and garlic. This may be a no-brainer but here’s what I did.

1 small sweet onion (Vidalia if in season)

1 large clove garlic

8 oz mushrooms (any kind)

Olive oil or olive oil spray

1 cup left over rice

1 tbsp chopped almonds

Chop the onions and garlic together and sauté in olive oil or spray about 5 min until slightly soft. Chop the mushrooms into bite-sized pieces and sauté until soft. Add the rice and saute until completely warmed through and slightly crispy. Toss the almonds in and cook for about 5 minutes. Season to taste.

Serve with a protein or as a main course.

If you try this, let me know how you like it.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Daily Fat Fight. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

