A Day In the Life


Preemptive  warning: this was written with two thumbs on my smart phone.

Lots of you know I’m a pretty social-media kinda gal. And you might know that I’m not really an overly verbal political person on social media. My “political” posts are about animal cruelty and not so much about social injustice . I’m that kinda gal. Puppies and baby goats.

Believe it or not, that’s not what this blog is about.

In the past week, I have had some very challenging days. Emotionally challenging, physically challenging…career-challenging. To say I have been on the “careening down the 150 drop of a roller-coaster” over and over every day might be a slight understatement. 

NO, it had nothing to do with the election. 

So, at the end of this week where I have questioned a lot of things that are going on in my life…..work, faith, commitment, family, friendships…I needed a funny. Guess I will keep my humor to myself from now on.

I don’t ask my friends to think like I do. And I would think they don’t ask me to think like they do. If someone posts something I don’t agree with….I scroll by. Twitter, Facebook…hell, LinkedIn. I don’t agree with each of you. Really, I don’t. And I don’t expect you to agree with me.

I do expect a little bit of decency. I didn’t mestage you when your political post bothered me. I didn’t comment when you attended a rally that went against my personal beliefs. I politely scrolled past.

Not that it should  make a difference but, I do have a lot on my shoulders right now. I’m not asking for pity or sympathy. I am, however, thinking that before you (and I have a few people in mind, but I’m really generalizing) judge me…..on ANYTHING…..walk a mile in my shoes. And by that I mean live the life I am living right now. 

Know what is a huge smile inducer now-a-days? When my mom tells me she loves me and she is blessed to have a daughter who would take such good care of her. That is REAL. That is my life. That is something to be proud of and smile about and maybe post on Facebook.

I would take 1000 of those moments over any of this vitriolic political bullshit y’all seem to be wrapped up in. 

If my stuff is so offensive, click the button.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Daily Fat Fight. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Day In the Life

  1. Coop says:

    Make em go away baby…we have our hands full.

    .love you

    Like

  2. Sue Davis says:

    Thank you for putting into words what I, too, feel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

