Berry Sweet


My first attempt at food photo blogging. Yes, I am on it right now.

So, I bought my third batch of berries for the spring. It seems that the true measure of spring having sprung is when you walk into the produce section of any grocery store and you are barraged with strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries. In this area of the country, April starts strawberry season. Blueberries come in May/June, and blackberries seem to be the June/July berries (along with raspberries).

It so happens that my favorite grocery story of the moment is struttin’ both strawberries and blueberries. I have yet to make it to a farm stand, although two are open. I hope next Saturday. I prefer local produce, but my organic farm stand nearby is not open on Sunday. It’s also the garden center where I bought my blueberry bushes, and where I got my fig tree. Yes, the one that died. I will be replacing said fig this year.

A story for another day, however.

I don’t have a wild and crazy recipe for you, except I did something interesting with the berries I bought (strawberries and blueberries). After washing them and cutting the strawberries into quarters, I poured about a half a cup of prosecco over them and let them sit. Upon tasting about half an hour later, the berries were not sickly sweet…but lightly flavored with prosecco. I suppose this would work as well with a champagne or spumante also, however I have discovered that prosecco suits my palate much more than either of the other sparkling wines. And…I sprung for the $14 bottle.

I cut a recipe for “Extra Rich Biscuits” into 1/4 and came out with 4 small to medium shortbread servings so we could have berry shortcake. The biscuit recipe is from my favorite Doubleday cookbook that I have referenced here before. One thing I did do to the biscuits before baking was to brush them with a mixture of honey and agave cut with a couple of tablespoons of prosecco.

Other attempts at awesome experimentation failed – I tried to make a strawberry cider-prosecco syrup for the presentation but it wound up tasting a tad burned.

Berry_Shortcake

Even more exciting, I downloaded a free trial of Photoshop/Lightbox and after taking about ten pictures I began my learning of how to take and then edit a picture into something I want to share. I think the picture looks okay and that’s pretty untouched…a little bit of saturation and color correction…but remember, this was my first attempt at Photoshop so I am not far enough along to do much “retouching”.

With any luck, I will become a bit better at choosing the right plate (although I love the plate I used…the color combo isn’t the best with red berries).

Let me know what you think. Is there a chance I will maybe some day be able to consider myself a food photographer and blogger? Yea or nay?

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Daily Fat Fight. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Berry Sweet

  1. Cricket says:

    Something else to try with your berries is to add some goat cheese, watermelon and drizzle with a good balsamic vinegar.

    Like

  2. Lindsay says:

    I saw the picture and thought, “hmm, that looks yummy,” but then I saw PROSECCO and the game changed. Dude. Come to Pittsburgh and make this for me, okay? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

