Hot Child in the City


It’s probably no great surprise to my frequent readers that I have a pretty crappy body image. I know all the lines…. it’s not what is outside but what is inside….your weight should not define you….TV and magazine images are not representative of real women… I’ve got it. None of that changes my feeling of being g fat, because I have been more fit than I am now. 

I learned a long time ago not to judge myself by stepping on a scale, but by how my clothes fit. And, since I moved here to take care of my parents, I have gained 4 dress sizes. That means I’ve bought at least two new wardrobes in 6 years. 

Working out with John (Myers, my trainer) has made me much stronger and toned my muscles, but menopause is wreaking havoc on my ability to lose the fat that covers my toned muscles.

Believe it or not, there’s a positive end to this wordy post……

Last night, I actually felt good about myself as my new Lil Maggie Lucky Brand Jeans would not stay “up” even tho I had a belt on. And…..even better, when I went into Kroger to get mom her Sunday New York Times (it was after midnight), Jim saw the cashier dude totally check my ass out as I walked by him to pick up some other groceries….and then watch me walk out the door.
When I got back in the van and Jim told me, I swear, I couldn’t wipe the smile off my face. I’m vain, I know it. I will probably go to hell on a road paved with the sin of vanity but for just a moment….I felt good. 

Both me. 8 years apart.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Daily Fat Fight. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hot Child in the City

  1. Coop says:

    Mary, you are the most Beautiful women in the world to me. Always have been, always will be.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As we get older, it harder to lose weight. It just is. I’m just about the heaviest I’ve ever been. It sucks, but I’m not going to dwell on it. I try to eat healthier, but if I want a piece of cake, I’m having a piece of cake. I never really turned heads to begin with, so try not to fret about it now. It’s not because I’m fat (well, ok, maybe a bit), I’m realistic…. I’m not in my 20’s anymore. I’m 53 with a head full gray and an attitude. Cheer up! You have love. That’s more important that a pair of jeans. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • maryaquino says:

      I agree, and maybe I’m just vain….but I do know that I don’t feel as healthy….and that part worries me that I could not be around to take care of Mom, or be with Jim…

      Not whining. I am blessed for sure. It was nice to have some random kid look at my old lady ass…LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

