As blue-berry as I can be


I wanted to use up some blueberries that were in the fridge prior to them becoming small green bullets (it’s a novel idea….really, I’m much better at growing science experiments in the fridge. There’s a greek yogurt one working right this minute.

Anyway, I chose to make an oatmeal/blueberry THING I can have for lunch or breakfast this coming week in an effort to keep my one-day streak of eating better and working out (on a three day streak of working out, just a one day streak of eating better). As always, I can’t just copy a recipe verbatim. I have to tweak. So, I took this recipe for Blueberry Oatmeal Bars and changed out the banana to be 1/2 a cup of pureed pumpkin, and subbed egg whites for a whole egg. I’m not sure I added enough honey, so I’m thinking of making a blue agave/lemon syrup to pour over the top before I put them away for the week…

IMG_20170603_151957

Here’s another thing. I went with organic everything. Honey. Oats. Coconut Oil. Eggs. Everything…except the damn blueberries. Hard to find organic blueberries. But my blue agave is also organic.

…..Update after trying a piece….no extra sweetener needed!

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, Daily Fat Fight, Exercise ramblings, Food, Photoblogging, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to As blue-berry as I can be

  1. Coop says:

    It’s yummy. …even without bacon.
    …..does this make my poop ” organic fertilizer? “

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

