A Bit of Buffalo in North Carolina


I’ve been wanting to make buffalo cauliflower for quite some time. So, while I am sitting here watching The Pioneer Woman…she’s making me want to cook and blog. Saturdays are meant for Ree Drummond and cooking/blogging.

All I need now-a-days is a base recipe so I picked up my phone and said….OK Google.

img_20170722_102637-e1500734281365.jpg

In an effort to make every recipe my own, I punched a few ingredients I like into this recipe.

1 medium cut cauliflower

1/2 cup gluten free flour (you can use AP if you want)

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/2 cup water

1/4 tsp sesame oil

2 tbsp coconut oil, melted

2/3 cup Crystal hot sauce

2 tbsp honey

1 tbsp soy sauce

1/8 tsp ginger paste

1/4 tsp ancho chili powder

Mix flour, water, salt, garlic powder, onion powder, and pepper in a bowl until smooth. Add the cauliflower and coat. Place in a single layer on a cookie sheet lightly sprayed with cooking spray. Bake at 450 for 15 minutes, turning once.

While the cauliflower is baking, mix the rest of the ingredients together until smooth. Transfer cooked cauliflower to the bowl of hot sauce and coat. Return to the oven and bake for 20 minutes.

Serve with ranch dressing or blue cheese…or just gobble them up with no extra stuff.

**Added after the fact: serve with the buffalo sauce left-overs mixed with Duke’s mayonnaise (I *am* down south, y’all….) Bet that will have some kick. One benefit of “buffaloing” cauliflower is no cross-contamination!

Buffalo down south…I’m a fan. I admit, I have never had a buffalo chicken wing (vegetarian, y’know) but I’m hoping this kinda stuff will come close to the buffalo type of wing sauce and on a little bit of cauliflower.

…random thought….have you tried cauliflower rice? Oh Emm Gee. Maybe this sauce could be poured over that for a saucy rice. Something to try…

IMG_20170722_102805

 

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, Food, Journaling, My Thoughts and Musings, Photoblogging, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Bit of Buffalo in North Carolina

  1. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    This sounds fantastic! I am originally from Buffalo and love me some wings! It’s hard to find good wings that emulate the ones from Buffalo down here in Austin Texas. I have never thought of buffaloing cauliflower! Can’t wait to try this. Thanks for sharing.
    Isn’t the Pioneer Woman great TV? I love watching her and her family… I just sit back and marvel at how easy she makes everything seem…and how comfortable she is in the kitchen. Me? I HATE to cook and just about all I do when I’m cooking is cuss! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing this recipe. I have family coming to town next week and my sister-in-law LOVES to cook and experiment so I’m going to share this recipe with her. I’m sure we’ll end up making it together… It’s definitely more fun to cook with someone. Wine helps too…
    Michele at Angels Bark

    Liked by 1 person

    • maryaquino says:

      I have to watch Ree every week. It’s part of the Saturday schedule. She does make everything look easy 😀

      Like

    • greyzoned/angelsbark says:

      Your white greyhound is gorgeous btw. I have two black male greys: Picasso & Luca. And I also have a dogsitting business so right now there are 8 greyhounds lounging around the living room on big fluffy beds…and a few are up on the couch and the recliner. I also have a Labradoodle here who loves hanging with the greyhounds…
      Just wanted to say how beautiful your profile pic is…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

