Southern Cobbler Life


It’s been a tiny bit of a depressing summer because my favorite farm market (Indigo Farms) is struggling. They never opened for strawberry or blueberry picking season and their garden store (extreme organic garden store extraordinaire) is closed for good. I’ve frequented the market as much as possible but they are definitely limited in what they’re selling. Used to be full of Indigo Farms jams and sauces, clearly made on site…After dropping off a foster dog to a *hopeful* forever home, I decided to brave the crazy weather and ran in. They had their own freestone peaches…wow, South Carolina peaches…to die for, and they are fantastic. After grabbing a few other things (eggplant, onions, and peppers), I saw they had INDIGO FARMS FIGS. I bought my first fig tree at Indigo. I had that tree for 3 years until Hurricane Matthew drown it last year.

So, when I got home, I wanted to bake. I stared at the eggplant for quite a while until I unpacked the peaches. They were ripe, and I noticed I also have a mango that was ready to eat too. As if the peaches and mango weren’t enough…I decided the figs would roast nicely…so, i halved the peaches, tossed the figs on a baking sheet, and added the mango too. Roasted fruit is super sweet and yummy. I sprayed mine with coconut baking spray and sprinkled it with the tiniest bit of organic sugar. 20ish minutes in the oven at 425…yum to the max.

But…what to do with the roasted fruit? Cobbler. COBBLER!!! I happen to have a Southern Living cookbook and so I checked out their cobbler recipe. Not to be outdone…I can’t just take a recipe and be happy. Nope, not me. So…here’s my Roasted Fruit Coconut Cobbler

2-3 cups of roasted fruit (any kind is fine. I used peaches, figs, and mango)

1 cup of gluten-free 1:1 flour

1/8 tsp salt

1/3 stick butter

enough coconut oil to make it 2/3 stick of butter (honestly, my division turned out with 3/20 of a cup hahaha!)

1/4 c organic shredded coconut (not sweetened)

1 handful (about 1/4 cup) of organic sugar

1 tbsp milk

1/4 tsp coconut extract (optional)

Cut the roasted fruit into bite size pieces (you may need to shred the mango). Mix the flour, salt, and sugar. cut butter and coconut oil into the flour mixture until the consistency is that of small pebbles. Refrigerate for about 15-30 minutes. You can refrigerate it for up to 24 hours.

Fill 9″ square baking pan with the chopped fruit. Crumble the cobbler topping over the fruit. Bake at 425 (same as roasting the fruit) for 45 minutes.

IMG_20170729_154628

Still baking cobbler

 

 

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, Food, Journaling, Photoblogging, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

