We hold these truths to be self-evident…


american-flag-1459201553ppe

It’s been a rough few days. So much going on in this country that is scary to a liberal such as I…I am liberal. There. I’ve admitted it. While I have some conservative tendencies, my soul, my conscience, my leanings…all liberal. Very liberal. Don’t try to argue with me about it. You won’t change my mind…54 years and counting, your words, kind or hurtful, won’t change my mind.

I don’t know the answer to any of the big questions that are lurking out there. What I do know is, MY God made us in his image. So..that means that if you are white, or black, or pink, or purple, or rainbow colored, male, female, prefer not to orient, tall, short, thin, fat, blonde, brunette, redhead, green-haired…we are ALL made in His image. What does that mean? None of us are any better or worse than the other. We’re all sinners, we’re all loved by a God who judges us not on our exterior but by our heart.

God is omniscient. All knowing. We cannot presuppose to know what he knows. He created us all. And in creating us all, he knows us to the infinite cells in our body. So, if he knows us all and loves us unconditionally, who are we to judge each other by any standard of this earth?

It seems that it’s “cool” these days to point a finger and refer to someone derogatorily…fat, gay, stupid, Italian, etc…and I think that’s sad. It’s sad because it seems to come from the highest points in this wonderful country. And, FYI, that’s NOT what this country was founded on.

The Declaration of Independence includes (second paragraph) the statement, “We hold these truths to be self-evident – that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. (There’s more after that…important stuff. Don’t know what the document says? Now you do.)

What happened this past week…it’s deplorable. Yes. It is. Can we look to the past and say the same or worse has happened? Absolutely. But are we not a better country than to continue to uphold and defend those who look to do harm to others ALSO CREATED IN GOD’S IMAGE?

It makes me sad that I worry someone is going to bash me for voicing my opinion in MY blog linked to MY Facebook page (and other social media pages)…for believing that we, as a nation, have sent too many men and women to DIE for our rights to pursue certain unalienable Rights…and it seems okay that groups of hate-mongers live and thrive in this same country that protects our rights to pursue happiness.

Let’s take a second and think on that.

My happiness centers around my family, my friends, my ability to travel freely from city to city without reproach, my ability to live without fear of imminent bodily harm because of my race, religion, orientation, or lineage. Is it too much to ask that we *all* feel uninhibited where something like that is concerned? I mean, using part of the Hippocratic oath…can’t we just agree to be able to “do no harm”?

Instead of pointing fingers at political parties or at each other and saying, “you’re wrong”…maybe we can extend a hand in friendship and agree to disagree, but also agree to DO NO HARM…to each other.

Back in the late 60s and early 70s, music was all about love. All you need is love. Love will keep us together. Love is all around. Groovy kind of love. How sweet it is to be loved by you. Cherish. I’m into something good. God only knows. Baby I love your way. Then came you. Your song. You are the sunshine of my life. Nobody does it better. Let’s stay together. Why can’t we keep these thoughts in our heads and hearts? Are you feeling frustrated? Baby I love your way. Did someone make you angry? All you need is love. Are you sad? You are the sunshine of my life.

C’mon people now. Everybody get together. Try to love one another right now.

About maryaquino

Food, rock and roll and greyhound lover
This entry was posted in Crazy Random Thoughts, God, Journaling, My Thoughts and Musings, Philanthropy, Service to Others, Stupid things people say and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We hold these truths to be self-evident…

  1. Sue Davis says:

    Bless you. Truth well written. May my own words and actions always be grounded in love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

