Grief and the Modern Woman


You may think that I’m gonna drone on and on about losing my dad or my mom. But honestly, this time I’m not.

Don’t get me wrong. This week has been kinda … upsetting … because it’s the days leading up to losing mom BUT…I really discovered something this week. No, let me correct that. I was clearly reminded of two things.

  1. We have such an amazing God. If you don’t believe, just hang with me here. Throughout the Bible, there are so many passages that remind us to pray. Give your concerns to God. Don’t fear, don’t worry, don’t give up. Just bring your petitions to God. He will hear and he will comfort you. He loves you and does not want you to hurt. It’s gonna happen because we live in a broken world but he wants to offer his love and his comfort.
  2. I have incredible friends. I mean, I have some incredible friends. #2 is probably directly connected to #1, because I do believe in my heart of hearts that all things given in love come from a loving God. Let’s just say to all of you who read this – you are amazing. Whether you interacted with me this week or not…….you are incredible and I want you to take that to heart. Go through your day today knowing that you are amazing and incredible. Because Mary says so…and because God gave you to me as a friend.

I’m not trying to be obtuse, really. I just wanted to surface the fact that I prayed hard for some things this past week. And God heard me. He heard my prayer and he responded. And he responded. And while he was responding, he blessed me AGAIN by reminding me how spectacular my friends are. All the things.

Hold this close to your heart – Philippians 4:6-7

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

So what does this all have to do with grief? My life, for the past 11 years has been all about grieving a handful of losses…some physical, some emotional, some familial. I’m learning all about the stages. My grief journey seems to be VERY long (couldn’t be that I suppress some of my feelings so that I can just get through the day, could it?) and therefore even rejoicing in my day to day stuff is part of that journey.

Besides. This is my blog. I’ll title my stuff whatever I want HA!

About Solid Body Strong Mind

Planning an update to this, and hopefully a way to encourage women to stay healthy as they approach middle age. Change happening April 1!!
This entry was posted in advice, Crazy Random Thoughts, Dad, Daily Stuff, God, Health and fitness, Journaling, Life After Mom, Life With Mom, Lifestyle Blog, love, My Thoughts and Musings, Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment